Pina Colada Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Easy! Excellent! A big hit at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I took a summer course based on coffee and sugar (and other commodities).. and since my commodity was rum, I decided to bake this cake in the form of cupcakes. They were a massive hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I changed it a little bit.Instead of coconut cream pudding I used vanila. And for the rum I used pineapple rum. An easy and good tasting desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This is the most requested cake I've ever made. I add a splash more rum to the cake batter and a little bit more to the frosting. After frosting, I sprinkle more coconut flakes over the top and sides. This cake bakes up really moist you may think it's not done. Don't over bake or it'll have a chewy texture. It smells just like a Pina Colada. Nice and fruity. My co-workers have been begging me to make this cake for a few months now. I have never gotten so many compliments on a cake as this one. Great for a holiday office party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This cake is so freaking good. I made it for a Jamaica themed party I had and everyone couldn't stop talking about it, they love it so much that everytime there is a birthday or party I am asked to make it. My dad requests it every year for his birthday which is in December....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
My husband loved this cake. I used light rum instead of dark because that is what I had on hand; probably would have been better with the dark, but still delicious! Thanks for the recipe Roger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I hate to give a bad review, but this cake was SUCH a disappointment. It had an overly sweet and unnatural flavor--and smell. I made this cake for my husband's family, and was really embarrassed when we all took our first bite. I had been hoping that the cake would taste better than it smelled, but it was worse. Thankfully, the frosting (whipped cream, cream of coconut pudding, flaked coconut, and crushed pineapple) was delicious, so we scrapped it off of the cake and ate that by itself. Like I said, I hate giving bad reviews, so I apologize, but I regret wasting my time making and serving this cake so I felt it was important to share my feelings on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pat
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I made the cake with fat free frozen whipped topping which cut the calories just a bit. I love this cake because it's not too sweet, and very light. I made this cake for a birthday party, I decorated the top with chocolate shells, and macadamia nuts for rocks, and a paper umbrella. Everyone just loved the cake. I made it for a pot luck also, and it got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This was awesome! Nice and light for a hot summer day. Do not mess with this recipe, it was perfect as. When I made this, everyone kept asking me for the recipe. KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Worth every calorie...I used a pineapple cake mix, coconut rum, and toasted my coconut flakes. YUmmmy-licious!! Always moist and a hit everytime it's served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Four Roads, Diego Martin, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States