Pina Colada Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
awesome recipe- my only advice, garnish with cherries to add some color
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was sooooooo yummy. Like another reviewer suggested, I too used pineapple juice instead of the 1/2 cup of water. I also used more rum (1/2 cup) in the batter. My parents visited for the Thanksgiving holidays and absolutely raved about this cake...I think my Dad ate almost half the cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Sorry to go against the grain but this cake was just okay. it was just a boxed cake with coconut shavings. I could not find coconut cream puddding so I used vanilla pudding but put coconut extract. However, I must say that the frosting was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This cake was a BIG hit!! I made a few changes. I used pineapple cake mix, vanilla pudding and coconut rum. I did not add the coconut flakes because I don't care for flaked coconut. The cake was AWESOME!! Everyone loved the cake. I doubled the whipped topping because one tub of whipped cream was not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Made this for Easter and WOW it was a hit. Everyone loved it! I will definately make again! Thanks Roger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Hands down BEST cake in the world! A huge hit at all the family get togethers! I used a 20oz can of crushed pineapple instead of the 8oz can. I added half the pineapple to the cake batter and used the juice from the can instead of using water. And always, a little extra rum! Made the cake SO moist! Best cake ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
D.E.L.I.C.I.O.U.S! This is soooo good! I couldn't find coconut pudding (the asian ones look more like gelatin than pudding to me), so I used vanilla pudding and 4 tsp of coconut extract. I also put in an extra tbsp of dark rum and coconut rum in the frosting. Super yummy. I've made this twice and both times have had rave remarks from my guests. Definitely a rum taste, but not too overpowering. Tastes just like it's namesake- a Pina Colada!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nevroth

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Just perfect!! I have also used the frosting part of the recipe (minus the rum) on a two layer pineapple upside-down cake--just a little frosting in the middle and the rest around the sides. It was gone in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
THIS WAS A BIG HIT!!! I baked this cake for a surprise party I was throwing for a friend and everyone loved it. It was gone in minutes. I made it in a regular cake pan and made two recipes to make it a double layer. For the middle I put pineapple preserves and on top of that a layer of the frosting. Frosting was made with heavy cream and omitted the instant coconut cream pudding. Added more rum to taste and this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I made this cake for my birthday party today and the entire thing was gone in a few minutes! So good! I used pineapple cake mix and 2 tablespoons of rum in the frosting. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States