Pina Colada Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I made this in an extremely rushed way and skipped the frosting. But the cake itself tasted great. I mixed in pineapples as well as i had no time for making the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I've been making this recipe for my sister's birthday for over 30 years and have never deviated from the recipe (rare for me)and I do use dark rum in both the cake and the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
My boyfriend asked for a cake with coconut in it for his birthday. As he ate his first piece he said "this is better than I could have imagined". This cake is so easy to make and so delicious (coming from someone who doesn't like coconut). I used regular rum and next time I think I'll use coconut rum to add to the flavor. Definitely could have used a little more frosting but it wasn't too dry or lacking. Will definitely keep this on file for something fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I'm not sure who would give a bad review - unless you are not a fan of rum cake in general. I just got another request to make this for a picnic. The only change I made is I use vanilla instant pudding mix (as I can never find coconut) and just add a tad of coconut extract. I add add a few more splashes of rum also. Great summer time treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I normally make everything from scratch, but I found this recipe and needed something resembling a pina colada taste with a quick turn-a-round. I decided to make cupcakes instead of a cake for a quick and easy snack. The frosting was dee-lish. I used the coconut creme for the cake filling and sugar free vanilla pudding packet for the frosting. I will definitely add this to my box of "go-to" recipes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
awesome recipe- my only advice, garnish with cherries to add some color
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was sooooooo yummy. Like another reviewer suggested, I too used pineapple juice instead of the 1/2 cup of water. I also used more rum (1/2 cup) in the batter. My parents visited for the Thanksgiving holidays and absolutely raved about this cake...I think my Dad ate almost half the cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Sorry to go against the grain but this cake was just okay. it was just a boxed cake with coconut shavings. I could not find coconut cream puddding so I used vanilla pudding but put coconut extract. However, I must say that the frosting was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This cake was a BIG hit!! I made a few chanes. I used pineapple cake mix, vanilla pudding and coconut rum. I did not add the coconut flakes because I don't care for flaked coconut. The cake was AWESOME!! Everyone loved the cake. I doubled the whipped topping because one tub of whipped cream was not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Made this for Easter and WOW it was a hit. Everyone loved it! I will definately make again! Thanks Roger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States