Pina Colada Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Delicious!! I made this for dinner last night for my family and they enjoyed it; Although I did do some changes I marinated the pork chops for about 45 min in about 3 cups of lime juice enough for the chops to be covered with juice, to the sauce i used 2 cans of thais' kitchen coconut milk added a can of crushed pineapple, then when i was about to grill the porkchops i added meat tenderizer;blackpepper;seasoning..it worked out splendid the cilantro did really well contrasting the sweetness.. :) 4starts because of the changes i did the to recipe.. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I really enjoyed these- made exactly as directed except used 1cup of coconut milk to make a bit more sauce. I then drizzled the sauce over steamed jasmine rice. Quick, easy, healthy, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I thought that this was a great "root" recipe. I added garlic, onion, and a whole lime to the coconut milk. I pan fried the boneless pork chops until brown and then poured in all of the milk. Covered and simmered until done. The pork chops were very, very tender. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saranac, New York, USA
Living In: Harker Heights, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I changed this recipe around to be more like an actual pina colada, and it turned out amazing! I only gave it 4 stars because of all of the changed I felt I had to make, but I didn't make it the original way. It just seems bland. First, I marinated the pork longer than what it says to do - probably about 30 minutes. I added a full lime to the marinade, and then added some limeade to completely submerge the pork chops. I used fresh coconut water, and ended up using all that was in the coconut (I wanted more coconut flavor than what the recipe called for). I added about 3 tablespoons of rum extract (I liked a lot of rum flavor too - others may want to use less). I also added a small can of crushed pineapple. Then to thicken it, I put a bit of corn starch in it, boiled it, then simmered it for about 10 minutes. The end result was fantastic. Next time I may use coconut cream instead, and maybe even some real rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Monak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This was only ok. First off, I didn't expect it to taste anything like a pina colada. There would need to be pineapple in it for it to be a PINA colada flavor. I think next time I may actually try some pineapple juice instead of or including the lime to sweeten it up. That may do the trick. This had a very bland flavor and I agree with another reviewer about the lime flavor getting lost in the mix. They weren't bad, just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
These were not good at all. My whole family did not like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I made this for supper tonight because I realized that we are WAY overstocked on canned coconut milk... We couldn't taste the lime juice on the pork chops once they were cooked, which was a bummer. After reading the other reviews, I decided to add a cornstarch-water mixture to our coconut milk as it was heating to thicken it up, and also added some brown sugar to sweeten it, and another reviewer said, that did enhance the coconut flavor. I don't know that we'll make this again, but I appreciate the idea of making the coconut sauce - I could certainly do it easily enough and could use it for dipping chicken tenders in, or even use it for a dessert/breakfast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Disappointing. Sounded good, and the coconut milk was excellent served over the rice but as for the chops :( enough said. I will keep my pina colada's for drinking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This was delicious! The coconut milk was very mild and the lime overpowered it and made it tart, so I added some brown sugar which really enhanced the flavor of the coconut! I made this dish with pineapple salsa and white rice. I'll be making this dish again! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Paula, California, USA
Living In: Laughlin, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States