Pina Colada Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I've made this many times now with rave reviews from everyone that tries it. I do add coconut extract to the cream cheese mixture and also make it with low fat ingredients and it does not affect the texture or taste. As others have said there is more than enough filling for one pie so I now make this in a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
went with a storebought crust and did not drain the pineapple. used 1/2 cup of real rum. skipped the cherries & pecans. perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacedcowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I had to try this pie. made it with a graham cracker crust and I didn't add the nuts. I had my son try it, he doesn't even like pineapple and he absolutely loved it ! Will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tiskilwa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Fixed this [ie for family dinner and it was gone in a minute. I did a pie crust to cut some of the sweetness. Very easy and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Left out the cherries and nuts in the pie. My Husband really loved this. I thought the flavour was nice but it was just a little too rich for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This was delicious. I made it for my boyfriends birthday. I left out the cherries, just because he doesn't like them. I added a little coconut to the mixture for the pie, and put lots of toasted coconut on top. I didn't think the rum flavor was too much or too little, but I didn't want that strong of a flavor, as other reviewers said. Great recipe! He loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blakr0seimm0rtal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Rich, fluffy and full of fruity flavor. It's also simple and quick to make. I left out the nuts and used a bigger pie dish than called for, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. Hubs liked it more than I did, calling it refreshing. I, on the other hand, thought it a little too rich, a little too sweet, and had too many flavors going on, so we'll settle at four stars between us. It doesn't take much to satisfy your sweet/fat tooth, so cut your pieces small!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I saw this recipe as I was trying to decide on a dessert for a Memorial Day BBQ. It was really yummy! I used a store bought shortbread crust and rum instead of rum extract. Toasted some extra coconut and put some in the pie and sprinkled some on top. Had extra filling and didn't want to throw it away, so I took someone else's advice and put it in a covered bowl in the freezer. One guy at the BBQ said the filling reminded him of Ambrosia Salad, and I agree. Great, cool pie on a hot day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This is just superb. I've made it full bore and with low fat ingredients (cream cheese, cool whip, pineapple not in heavy syrup). Of course - the full bore, full fat version is better. But the low fat does work if you're worried about that. Also - I prefer a graham cracker crust rather than vanilla wafer. And I usually use 1 cup of toasted coconut - half to put in the pie and half to sprinkle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Dauphin Island, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This pie was a cool treat on a hot day, and super easy. The only thing I changed was used half vanilla wafers and half shortbread cookies for the crust. I think it could use a little more rum flavoring, but still great just as the recipe is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States