Pina Colada Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Brooke Elizabeth
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
These were AMAZING!!! They were by far the best muffins I have EVER had. Trust me- you will love this recipe!! We used pineapple chunks instead of crushed pineapple, as well as light sour cream. Next time, I'm going to try splenda instead of sugar to see how that turns out! These were amazing- I can't say enough great things about them! Fantastic recipe; these muffins are perfection. UPDATE: I tried them with half splenda and they were delicious. I also tried making them with crushed pineapple and found I like the small chunks best. We served them as part of dessert at our Hawaiian party and they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Great recipie! Light and fresh muffins that are almost like a cupcake. However, can't really taste the rum, so I suggest doubling the rum extract if you really want that pina colada flavor. I am not a big fan of rum so this wasn't a problem for me. I think these would also be good with a maracino cherry ontop or some other mixed fruit in the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherrylicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Call these muffins if you like, but in my mind these "muffins" are CAKE. Very good cake as a matter of fact. So delicious I tried to rationalize keeping them rather than gifting them to the people I made them for as a thank you. I didn't succeed. I can always make these again - and will. They're insanely good and deliver everything they promise - real tropical pina colada flavors of pineapple, rum and coconut. I used butter rather than margarine and a full 20 oz. can of pineapple because that's what I had in the pantry. Maybe that extra pineapple is what made them so especially good, chock full of pineapple in every bite. The butter and sour cream guarantee richness and a moist, tender crumb. To take these over the top (I mean why waste the drained juice?) I drizzled a simple glaze over the muffins of reserved pineapple juice and powdered sugar. My only thought, and one I'll be sure to remember as well the next time I make them, is because these are cake and not muffins, they bake much better at 350 degrees rather than 375. Even if not necessary, it sure can't hurt to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
These were delicious, and I am not easy to please when it comes to muffins. I decreased the sugar to 1/4 c, replaced 1/2 c flour with 1/2 c rolled oats, and added 1/3 c chopped pecans to up the nutritional value. They were great--and still plenty sweet for my taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These smelled wonderful coming out of the oven! They are actually quite healthy too with only 1/4 cup of butter and you can use light sour cream with a good result. They were a bit too pineappely for my taste so if I were to make them again I would definitely reduce the amount of pineapple in half. I used shredded coconut because it was what I had on hand but think flaked would work better in this recipe. I also used 1 Tbsp. of actual rum instead of the extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
These muffins were really good. I made NO changes to the recipe, and I had alot of requests for the recipe after serving them at a tropical-themed brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
loved the recipe,family enjoyed them because its different,excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coolidge, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Just made these this morning,& they were wonderful.Read all the reviewsbefore trying them,& added 1/4teas.each of pineapple & coconut extract as well as the teas. of rum flavoring,made 6 large muffins they rose beautifully,took 24 minutes to bake.Husband says it's a Keeper!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Very Tasty muffins! I actually had a fresh "candy" pineapple that I chopped up to use in this recipe. I used butter (softened at room temperature) instead of margarine. I filled up 16 muffin tins about 2/3 of the way. I also sprinkled a little more coconut flakes on top of the muffins right before baking. They baked up beautifully in 22 minutes. The top rounded out nicely like a muffin should with nice golden brown coloring. The coconut and pineapples smelled wonderful while baking! The coconut flakes on top of the muffins toasted up nicely revealing brown toasty edges. The muffins are tasty with the blend of pineapples and coconuts. I like the bits of pineapples and coconut flakes in each bite. However, I might add a little bit more pineapples next time because I like the sweet pineapples in every bite. Both the sour cream and coconut flakes adds a nice moistness to the muffins. I couldn't really detect the rum. However, If you want the rum flavor to really stand out you could increase the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I used melted butter instead of margerine and plain nonfat yogurt instead of sour cream. I did end up adding a little more coconut just because it didn't seem like very much when I added the half cup in. These turned out REALLY moist and the flavor was pretty good (we really liked the combination of the pineapple and coconut in a muffin), though I think I'd want to cut back on the sour cream next time and add something else. Pina Colada Mix, maybe? I think it's almost where it should be. I think it could use a little more rum flavoring, too. I'd like to try these as mini-muffins next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States