Pina Colada Ice Pops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Sounds great! Just needs another ingredient: Myers or Appleton rum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crawford, Colorado, USA
Living In: Elsmere, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Kay, rum does not freeze so you'd end up with slush. Haven't made these yet, but I'm giving it 5 stars based on how good they sound!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Our kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Made these today but I added about 1/4 cup cream of coconut (the stuff used in mixed drinks but contains no alcohol). It really helped bring out the coconut flavor and gave the pops just the right amount of sweetness!! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Mine are currently freezing, so I haven't tried the finished product yet. After reading the reviews I made the recipe as is and thought it wasn't quite the flavor I was hoping for. I remade the recipe using a 1lb. 4oz can of pineapple slices (with juice), approximately 1/4 cup of sweetened pineapple flakes, and approximately 2 tbsp honey. I added everything else as is in recipe. I have a bit of a sweet tooth and I thought this was perfect. I blended for quite a while to tried to make the coconut as fine as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
These sounded so good that i doubled the recipe. I thought the mix tasted really good and so had very high hopes. Unfortunelty once they froze they seemed to lose some of their flavour. I think they are good, but are lacking something, just not sure what. They were definitely refreshing on a hot day, not sweet at all though. I would almost think it is the coconut that is lacking to make it a true pina colada flavor, perhaps switching coconut for the vanilla? Either way they were a little too bannany but the adults liked them and the kids didn't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I'm not a huge fan of these. I expected more coconut flavor (especially since I added coconut extract). Next time I would use coconut cream and no banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I agree with those that say this has a very bland flavor and it's not very sweet. Maybe it needs more pineapple? The base of coconut milk is rather mild flavored and doesn't lend itself well to a popsicle. I even added shredded coconut and a tablespoon of sweetened condensed milk to up the sweet flavor and it wasn't enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Very bland. What little flavor it had was overwhelmingly banana. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Melon Ice Candy

See how to make refreshing homemade cantaloupe pops.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States