Pina Colada Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This was good, but I definitely saw some room for improvement. I plan on tweeking a few things and trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broad Channel, New York, USA
Living In: Howard Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
The cake was good, but it sunk in the middle of the Bundt ring. I frosted this with cream cheese frosting with rum extract and patted coconut into the icing. I made rum sauce with coconut rum to serve over this cake and ice cream! I made this for my pastry chef daughter-in-law's birthday, and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Pina Colada is one of my favorite cakes! I did not have all ingredients on hand but I did have one huge fresh Maui DOLE pineapple (very sweet) to use with this recipe. I used a duncan hines pineapple cake mix, coconut pudding and a cream of coconut (Coco Lopez). Don't make the mistake of using coconut milk, you can find the cream of coconut in the wines/liquor aisles. The can is a blueish color and is 15 oz. I also used 1 tsp of rum extract ( did not have any rum on hand) mixed with fresh pineapple bits (cut up in pieces) and as much of the fresh pineapple juices to make up for the 1/2 rum called for in the recipe batter. I made these into cupcakes instead of a tube cake pan, baking at 20 minutes, ending up with 22 cupcakes. If you do it this way make sure you fill each cupcake 2/3 way, it will rise up during baking. When cooled I used a toothpick to poke holes on the top. For the glaze, I decided to cut up more pineapple bits mixed with the leftover cream of coconut, drizzled over cupcakes. I also toasted a bag of Bakers coconut flakes in a pan until it was golden brown and sprinkled a generous amount on top of the glaze, chilled until ready to serve. easy to make, definitely moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by Hey Hey Helen
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
One of the best cakes I've ever had and super-easy, too! This was a huge hit at the party I brought it to. I used egg beaters and coconut milk (instead of cream) with no noticeable difference. I also used pineapple flavored cake mix and coconut flavored pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I was disappointed - not much flavour at all! My son said it was good but tasted like water! And I added toasted coconut to the mix. I did not however poke holes in it and pour the cream and rum on top - don't much like soggy cake. To its credit it was moist and fluffy.... only other change I made was to use 3 eggs plus 1 egg white so it wouldn't be too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Peters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is very tasty bundt cake! I made it for Christmas dinner, so I added green food coloring to the coconut creme frosting to give it a festive appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kriston Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Very good and very easy. If you have it and don't want to use alcohol, use a whole can (14oz) of coconut cream and leave out all the other liquids in the cake mix. No oil needed (plenty of fats in the coconut milk) and no rum or water. GREAT cake this way and the original way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorklyn, Delaware, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I made this twice already... And well.... Let's just say that this recipe is a keeper, and I give it a 5 * rating :). I made changes to make it my own, I used the full 1/2 cup of MALIBU coconut rum instead of plain rum. I also couldn't find cream of coconut anywhere so I used 1/2 can of coconut milk and 2 tbsp of pineapple rum instead of regular rum so the rum flavors are balanced out in the glaze. Next time I want to try to make a liquidy and creamy glaze and I will use pineapple slices and maraschino cherries for garnish :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I made these as cupcakes and they were incredibly moist and they were yummy but they didn't taste like pina colada, nor could I taste the rum in the actual cake either (what a waste of two shots of Malibu!). I've tried them twice, and even added a tablespoon of coconut extract, and I'm sorry, but they don't taste tropical. I even had taste testers who didn't know what they were supposed to taste like and they said they were the best VANILLA cupcakes they'd ever had. Looking for pineapple cake mix and instant coconut pudding, and we'll see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This is a great recipe. It was very much enjoyed by my family. In fact some folks could't get enough of it and kept coming back for more. I had one family member in particular who would eat his cake seconds after cutting his slice and sthen return for more. In fact he stood over it and did cake security for quite sorme time because he said it was sooo good!!!LOL!!! I will definitely make again. I didn't give it 5 stars because I modified the recipe a bit. I didn't have cream of coconut so I made some using coconut milk, condensed milk, and coconut extract. I also only used 1/2 the can of pineapple. In stead of making it in a bundt cake pan I used a simple shallow pan and iced the cake with the rum mixture and some whip cream. This cake is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States