Pina Colada Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I made this with just a couple of minor changes. I used pineapple cake mix instead of white and used pineapple juice in place of half of the water in the cake. I only used 1/2 to 3/4 of the pina colada/milk mixture, otherwise it would have been too soggy. Then I topped with some crushed pineapple. Let it sit overnight in the fridge and then topped with cool whip and coconut. When I first poured the pina colada topping on it, it sat mostly on top. But having made "poke" cakes before I knew that you have to let it sit in the fridge and the topping absorbs into the cake. That is the biggest key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I used pineapple in the cake mix and used the juice instead of water. I also used the pina colada drink mix in the cake too. Very good summer dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I love this recipe! I always make cupcakes instead of the cake. This recipe is a hit everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rblessedx3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Made this for the adults at my sons birthday party and everyone loves it! did the crushed pineapple before the whipped topping really good! If I know it is all going to be eaten that day I dice up strawberries and kiwi and sprinkle across top. Super easy to make and amazing flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I agree with the majority of the reviewers- easy to make, very moist and well received. It's great in a pinch but I far prefer cakes from scratch. Skipped the whipped cream as it was not necessary. I simply toasted coconut flakes in the oven and used th as a topping. Garnishing with strawberries added a little color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I LOVE this cake. When I first came across this recipe I had been looking for a cake I thought my son would enjoy...didn't really appeal to me too much. Made it and fell in love (and he didn't even want to try it). I make this recipe exactly as written except I toast the coconut. So easy and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was delicious ...with a few modifications. When I read the ingredients of the pina colada mix our store carried, and saw that it consisted mostly of corn syrup and artificial flavorings, I opted to go the route of an authentic pina colada. So, instead of the mix, I used 5 oz cream of coconut (Coco Lopez) and 5 oz of pineapple juice, instead of the mix. I also used pineapple juice for the liquid in the cake mix recipe and added crushed pineapple, as per other reviewers here. For the topping, I used real whipped cream as I personally just don't care for frozen whipped topping. The consensus among my co-workers that I shared it with for a special Aloha-themed going away party was that it was delectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Peck Huber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This cake was fab! Made it for a work gathering & it was gone...fast. When I poured the mixture on the cake, it did not absorb, but instead became a glaze. It was really tasty anyway. Next time I will foloow some of the other reviews and sub pineapple juice for the water in the cake mix. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This cake was absolute heaven! As another suggested I added a layer of crushed pineapple after pouring on the milk mixture. Then, let it sit overnight and before serving used real whipped cream to frost the cake. Reminded us alot of a tres leche cake. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILAPPLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Made this cake for a family get together was a big hit & was asked for the recipe. I made a few changes to the recipe. I substituded the water in cake mix with pineapple juice and added 1 8oz can of drained crushed pineapple to cake mix. I used half of the condensed milk and pina colada mix I felt using what the recipe called for would be too sweet. I used heavy whipping creme to frost oppose to cool whip and added a bit of pineapple juice and 2 tablespoons of condensed milk to the c whipping creme. Decorated cake with pineapple wrings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States