Pina Colada Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I made this with just a couple of minor changes. I used pineapple cake mix instead of white and used pineapple juice in place of half of the water in the cake. I only used 1/2 to 3/4 of the pina colada/milk mixture, otherwise it would have been too soggy. Then I topped with some crushed pineapple. Let it sit overnight in the fridge and then topped with cool whip and coconut. When I first poured the pina colada topping on it, it sat mostly on top. But having made "poke" cakes before I knew that you have to let it sit in the fridge and the topping absorbs into the cake. That is the biggest key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I used pineapple in the cake mix and used the juice instead of water. I also used the pina colada drink mix in the cake too. Very good summer dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I love this recipe! I always make cupcakes instead of the cake. This recipe is a hit everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rblessedx3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Made this for the adults at my sons birthday party and everyone loves it! did the crushed pineapple before the whipped topping really good! If I know it is all going to be eaten that day I dice up strawberries and kiwi and sprinkle across top. Super easy to make and amazing flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I agree with the majority of the reviewers- easy to make, very moist and well received. It's great in a pinch but I far prefer cakes from scratch. Skipped the whipped cream as it was not necessary. I simply toasted coconut flakes in the oven and used th as a topping. Garnishing with strawberries added a little color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I LOVE this cake. When I first came across this recipe I had been looking for a cake I thought my son would enjoy...didn't really appeal to me too much. Made it and fell in love (and he didn't even want to try it). I make this recipe exactly as written except I toast the coconut. So easy and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was delicious ...with a few modifications. When I read the ingredients of the pina colada mix our store carried, and saw that it consisted mostly of corn syrup and artificial flavorings, I opted to go the route of an authentic pina colada. So, instead of the mix, I used 5 oz cream of coconut (Coco Lopez) and 5 oz of pineapple juice, instead of the mix. I also used pineapple juice for the liquid in the cake mix recipe and added crushed pineapple, as per other reviewers here. For the topping, I used real whipped cream as I personally just don't care for frozen whipped topping. The consensus among my co-workers that I shared it with for a special Aloha-themed going away party was that it was delectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Peck Huber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This cake was fab! Made it for a work gathering & it was gone...fast. When I poured the mixture on the cake, it did not absorb, but instead became a glaze. It was really tasty anyway. Next time I will foloow some of the other reviews and sub pineapple juice for the water in the cake mix. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This cake was absolute heaven! As another suggested I added a layer of crushed pineapple after pouring on the milk mixture. Then, let it sit overnight and before serving used real whipped cream to frost the cake. Reminded us alot of a tres leche cake. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILAPPLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Made this cake for a family get together was a big hit & was asked for the recipe. I made a few changes to the recipe. I substituded the water in cake mix with pineapple juice and added 1 8oz can of drained crushed pineapple to cake mix. I used half of the condensed milk and pina colada mix I felt using what the recipe called for would be too sweet. I used heavy whipping creme to frost oppose to cool whip and added a bit of pineapple juice and 2 tablespoons of condensed milk to the c whipping creme. Decorated cake with pineapple wrings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States