Pina Colada Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I made this in a bundt pan. I found the actually cake recipe light, fluffy, and good. Mine was not dry. I made more of the sauce and the end product was super moist and delicious. Loved it and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Wonderful cake. Mine did stick a LOT to the pan but it was sooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This is so easy to make and great for picinic's. I have made it 4 times in the last month for a party or picinic.One tick is to turn cake upside down pour some of the juice into the bottom and then the rest on the top with pineapple pieces and coconut. It's great people are asking for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I thought this cake was terribly dry and tasteless. I will agree with one of the other reviewers that the rum/pineapple/coconut mixture was good. I made it for the 4th of July and luckily it was just family who tried it as I honestly would have been embarassed to serve it to guests. No one wanted another piece or to take any home so I'll end up throwing what is left away. I read other reviewers comments prior to making it so made sure I increased and made larger holes but it still was very dry and tasteless. I would recommend making more liquid as there seems to be an insufficent amount of liquid topping for the size of the cake. If making this for company, I'd recommend giving it a trial one on yourself first to be on the safe side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Wow, this really is a tasty cake! I made this cake exactly as stated in the recipe for a small dinner party with friends last night. Everyone loved it! Two words of caution; 1. make sure you grease the pan thoroughly including the top. Mine was so fluffy that it actually rose above the top of the pan and stuck. 2. Make sure you have plenty of clearance in your oven for it to rise. I have one of those stoves with the double ovens and mistakingly used the small one on top. Not a good idea! (Was baking bread in the big oven) All in all a winner. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chapin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
The rum/pineapple/coconut mixture was delicious, but the cake, unfortunately, was not as moist as I would want. I guess the sauce did not penetrate to the bottom of the cake. I would definitely make this again, but maybe next time I will poke holes in the bottom and fill the cake, then after an hour turn the cake right-side up, and penetrate the top of the cake with the sauce. I'm sure that would be rummy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Jessica
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
The pineapples make this cake really really moist. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anna's Retreat, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Amazing delicoius drunken cake! Tastes wonderful but beware of the alcohol content, the whole cake is submerged in a wonderful dry, smooth rum. If you like to relax and drink, this is the cake for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States