Pillow-Soft Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
These were simple to make and absolutely FANTASTIC! I brushed them with melted butter right after baking and my family wouldn't wait until dinner to eat them! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyscookin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
OMG, these are the best rolls I have ever tasted. They make your taste buds jump. A suggestion is if you are into sweet things lay out the a little bread dough and add melted butter and tons of cinnamon sugar and brown sugar to the middle of the dough. Roll it like a wrap and bake it like you would bake the rolls it tastes GREAT!!!!!This Recipe Rocks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I made these on a whim and brought them to my mom's for Thanksgiving. This makes a LOT of rolls, and they were all gone before the end of dinner. They taste very homemade, yeasty and rich. I thought that they were an easily made recipe. I thought (myself) that they didn't brown up in the time given in the recipe, but that might be just my oven. I would definitely recommend these to someone looking for a really good comfort food hot roll recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I've made these rolls twice now, the first time I changed the servings to 15 instead of 24, and both times they tasted wonderful! They were a little more dense than I wanted, maybe I did something wrong, but they do taste great and it's an easy recipe. I also brushed them with butter when they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Superb ! Wish I could give more than a 5 rating. Needed about 1 hand of flour when forming them into a ball for 2nd. rising. I never tasted a better roll. ! ! ! Nothing like these 'old time' recipies. Strong suggestion, you double the water input. I use butter flavored Crisco as shorting, and so much nicer and lighter. Much nicer roll. Made several times already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This recipe's a winner! As others suggested, I brushed melted butter over the rolls when they came out of the oven. I made the 24 rolls required by the recipe, but they were pretty big. Next time I might make 30 smaller rolls. I'll definitely make these again. They're simple, light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
These rolls are very good and easy to make. I melted butter over them and sprinkled natures seasoning over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I forgot to put eggs in & my dough didn't turn out sticky as Norma mentioned but rolls were still super soft!! I also cut down on salt & added more sugar in; brushed some honey/coconut milk mixture on rolls after 15mins of baking then baked for another 5mins, they tasted just perfect! Highly recommend - a definite keeper! Will make them again & again!!! Thanks a lot for sharing this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I MADE THESE ROLLS FOR SUNDAY DINNER AND THEY WERE PERFECT. I USED BUTTER INSTEAD OF SHORTENING AND I ADDED A BIT MORE FLOUR. THE ROLLS ARE SUPER SOFT AND HAVE GOOD FLAVOR. EASY TO MAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
My husband was in love with the JP Big Daddy Biscuit. I made these dinner rolls one night and bam he has a new favorite. These turned out so well. The only thing I changed was I put them into a greased cupcake pan to let them rise and cook. Worked like a charm and boy did they go over well. They travel well too. I sent a batch from Michigan to my husbands family in Philadelphia. I wrapped them right after cooking them and mailed them right off and they arrived via priority shipping and fresh as the day I made them. They all loved them and served them for Mothers day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kentwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States