Pillow-Soft Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
SOOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Yikes! Something went terribly wrong with this recipe! I'm an avid bread baker and followed the recipe to a T. I definitely would not call these "Pillow-soft". The taste was just okay and they were more like a crusty kaiser than a soft roll, which is what I craved. The dough is super sticky (beyond anything that's workable!) and needs more flour than what is written. Without the added flour I was not even able to scrape everything out of the bowl OR even form a ball. The dough stuck to everything...what a mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
These were great! Browned up very nice and pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
DELICIOUS. I doubled the water as another reviewer strongly suggested. These lived up to my expectations of a soft, tasty roll. They had a beautiful brown exterior but remained soft. For dinner, I topped them off with melted butter and the flavor was awesome! There were just three of us so I halved the recipe and then froze the extra rolls by wrapping them in saran wrap and putting in a freezer ziploc bag. Looking forward to thawing those and also making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tahra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Very good recipe! I never thought that I would be able to make homemade rolls but it was easy. It wasn't as quick as the total time that it says it takes but it definitely took faster than most of the other recipes called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Winfield, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Home Town: Weston, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
OMG- best rolls ever. By the end, everyone has 2-3 rolls. So soft and not too sweet, great with melted butter on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
These rolls are awesome. They're so easy to put together. I didn't even get out the mixer. I was out of regular yeast and and to use pizza dough yeast instead. No problems with that substitution. Used White Lily bread flour. I formed all the dough into lots and lots of rolls (more than 24). Baked off six for the 2 of us and froze the remainder. This morning I took another six out of the bag in which they're frozen and let them thaw/rise for about 7 hours, and they came out beautiful. I'll never make any other rolls! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTaterPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
first time i made them and well the dough was very sticky. first time i made bread, so i am not used to working with dough. They tasted great and they were nice and light. My husband loved them. from start to finish though its more like 2 1/2-3 hrs. waiting for them to rise once for about an hour and then about 30 min again. worth the wait though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I FOUND THIS RECIPE THIS MORNING FOR MY MOM BIRTHDAY DAY !!!!! WOW WHAT CAN I SAY BU THANK YOU...... I USED MY BREAD MACHINE JUST HELP MIX REAL GOOD UNTIL IT STATED TO KNEAD ,LET IT RISE IN A BOWL OVER AN HR. THEN ROLLED OUT ONTO FLOURED COUNTER AND MADE ROLLS ONTO COOKIE SHEET MADE 30 ROLLS . PUT THEM INTO 340 OVEN AND BAKE FOR 5 MIN ADDED MELTED BUTTER ON TOP AND THEN AGAIN WHEN I REMOVED FROM OVEN... HELLO MY FAMILY WAS SAYING THIS IS ALL YOU MADE YOU DIDN'T MAKE ENOUGH... MY UNCLE THIS ARE PERFECT EVEN COLD ,HE ALSO MAKE YA WANNA HURT SOMEBODY OVER THESE ROLLS ! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morelslady

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 81-90 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States