Pillow-Soft Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
OMG, these are the best rolls I have ever tasted. They make your taste buds jump. A suggestion is if you are into sweet things lay out the a little bread dough and add melted butter and tons of cinnamon sugar and brown sugar to the middle of the dough. Roll it like a wrap and bake it like you would bake the rolls it tastes GREAT!!!!!This Recipe Rocks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
These were simple to make and absolutely FANTASTIC! I brushed them with melted butter right after baking and my family wouldn't wait until dinner to eat them! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyscookin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I made these on a whim and brought them to my mom's for Thanksgiving. This makes a LOT of rolls, and they were all gone before the end of dinner. They taste very homemade, yeasty and rich. I thought that they were an easily made recipe. I thought (myself) that they didn't brown up in the time given in the recipe, but that might be just my oven. I would definitely recommend these to someone looking for a really good comfort food hot roll recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I've made these rolls twice now, the first time I changed the servings to 15 instead of 24, and both times they tasted wonderful! They were a little more dense than I wanted, maybe I did something wrong, but they do taste great and it's an easy recipe. I also brushed them with butter when they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Superb ! Wish I could give more than a 5 rating. Needed about 1 hand of flour when forming them into a ball for 2nd. rising. I never tasted a better roll. ! ! ! Nothing like these 'old time' recipies. Strong suggestion, you double the water input. I use butter flavored Crisco as shorting, and so much nicer and lighter. Much nicer roll. Made several times already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This recipe's a winner! As others suggested, I brushed melted butter over the rolls when they came out of the oven. I made the 24 rolls required by the recipe, but they were pretty big. Next time I might make 30 smaller rolls. I'll definitely make these again. They're simple, light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
These rolls are very good and easy to make. I melted butter over them and sprinkled natures seasoning over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I forgot to put eggs in & my dough didn't turn out sticky as Norma mentioned but rolls were still super soft!! I also cut down on salt & added more sugar in; brushed some honey/coconut milk mixture on rolls after 15mins of baking then baked for another 5mins, they tasted just perfect! Highly recommend - a definite keeper! Will make them again & again!!! Thanks a lot for sharing this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I MADE THESE ROLLS FOR SUNDAY DINNER AND THEY WERE PERFECT. I USED BUTTER INSTEAD OF SHORTENING AND I ADDED A BIT MORE FLOUR. THE ROLLS ARE SUPER SOFT AND HAVE GOOD FLAVOR. EASY TO MAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
My husband was in love with the JP Big Daddy Biscuit. I made these dinner rolls one night and bam he has a new favorite. These turned out so well. The only thing I changed was I put them into a greased cupcake pan to let them rise and cook. Worked like a charm and boy did they go over well. They travel well too. I sent a batch from Michigan to my husbands family in Philadelphia. I wrapped them right after cooking them and mailed them right off and they arrived via priority shipping and fresh as the day I made them. They all loved them and served them for Mothers day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kentwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States