Pillow-Soft Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
These were exceptional! The only change I made was using 3/4 a cup of water instead of 1/2. I used my kitchenaid as my arms don't work and kneading is no longer possible for me. I was able to make these quickly and with a clingy 16 month old. I reduced the second rise by 15 minutes and let it finish rising in the preheating oven, turned out amazing. So soft! These would make great sandwich rolls too. This is my new go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Well I followed this recipe to the letter.I give the texture a 5 the easy in preparation a 5 and the taste a 3 Mine came out very fluffy with a crusty outside, just as I like it. I had no problems with the preparation.I followed the step's as directed. adding two cup's of flour and beating till smooth. then mixed in as much as I could, them turning the ball out on to the counter and kneading in the remaining cups of flour.no extra flour was needed. I will be making this again, I would say the recipe need's a little more salt.but they are absolutely wonderful with my homemade honey butter. and would be even better with fresh herb's mixed into the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
love then i cut this recipe on half and they came out just great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I made these last night and they are awesome! I increased the water to 3/4 c. at another user's suggestion. I mixed the wet ingredients first minus the eggs and let the mixture stand for 15 min. All bread makers will tell you that they all do this. The dough was so perfect, although I only used 6 cups of flour and maybe 1/2 c when kneading. I also used oil instead of lard. I find it makes for a moister bread. And lastly, I cooked the first batch (12) for the time mentionned, but the other batch for much longer because my DH wanted them really browned. When I put them away this morning I found that mine were still perfect and his were kinda hard so don't cook them too long. I will make this again and again. It's a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natacha Pellerin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This are wonderful. My kids LOVED them. I added a little honey and a bit more sugar to the recipe then served with butter and honey. YUM>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I have made these dinner rolls 3 times now, and the first two times, I made them exactly how the original recipe called for, and I thought that they were kinda bland but I loved the texture of them. Today (Easter Sunday 2011), The only thing I changed was I used 2 cups of canned milk (instead of regular milk), 4 Tbsp of shortening, and 2 Tbsp of butter (instead of 6 Tbsp of shortening), brushed the rolls with egg white just before I popped them in the oven, and then when they came out of the oven, I brushed them with melted butter. I also used fresh Fleischmann's Active Dry Yeast (not the Rapid Rise; also make sure it isn't expired). They came out absolutely amazing, and were NOT bland anymore! The next time I make them, I plan on using Stevia instead of sugar, so I'll let ya'll know how they turn out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Follwed recipe exactly. This makes the best dinner rolls ever!!!! They are perfectly soft and have a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I used Fleishmans ActiveDry yeast instead of Rapid Rise and followed the recipe exactly and they still came out perfect! My first time baking rolls, and this recipe is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
These were soft for sure but like many others have stated, they lack flavor. This for sure is an easy beginner bread recipe and I will attempt it again but with a few adjustments for flavor or will add flavor after wards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Perfect everytime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States