Pillow-Soft Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
really easy, and really good. We made them into crescent roles with a little wipe of butter inside... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
These are so good!! So easy to make, too. These are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swmcardle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I made these rolls to pair with my homemade Cauliflower Zuppa Toscana. I cut this recipe in half. I only made one change and that was using melted butter instead of shortening. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make this recipe. I proofed the yeast in the mixer bowl with the sugar, warm water and warm milk for ten minutes, then added the butter and egg, then the salt and flour. This dough needed almost a full cup to get it into a solid ball so I could knead it with the dough hook. Even then, it was a "wet" dough. I kneaded it with the hook for five minutes, then set the dough ball to rise in a greased, covered bowl on a warm heating pad for an hour. I then formed it into 1/4 cup balls and set the individual balls in greased muffin cups. I got 11 sized balls out of this recipe, not 12. I let them rise in the muffin tin, covered with saran wrap, on the warm heating pad for another half hour. I baked them at 400* for exactly 12 minutes. The texture of these rolls was really good but I think it could use a little more sugar. It's really a nice basic roll recipe, like something you'd eat at a church dinner or at Grandma's house. I'll make this again but I'll double the sugar. NOTE: I did not measure my yeast. I used one envelope of yeast for a half recipe. For the whole batch, you'll want two envelopes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
These were excellent. I pretty much cook/bake everything my boyfriend and I eat. I got this recipe and convinced him to make it, with a little bit of guidance. They were amazing! Especially good if you put a little bit of honey and butter on the top when still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
These tasted more like pretzels than dinner rolls. There was way too much salt for our liking. But they were soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I just made these rolls for lunch with soup. They were delicious! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I realized I had run out of eggs AFTER I'd thrown in all other ingredients so i used 3 large tablespoons of yoghurt instead. I also used a cup of whole wheat flour instead of apf to convince myself it's healthier. Had some trouble getting the dough together but greasing my hands, the bowl i left it to rise in and the knife helped. Even though I've made considerable changes the recipe was amazing and i'm giving this all five which I'm sure it is as is also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Turned out well. Crowd them together to raise thicker rolls or spread them out for flatter rolls, either way turned out well. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
WOW! I've been trying to make dinner rolls like these for ages and they never worked...these were perfection!!!! I'm not a stickler for absolute measurements and these still worked out wonderfully! Thank you! and my family thanks you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Easy and simple! The only thing was that they were a little lacking in the "dinner roll" taste. Was kinda like egg bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States