Pill Bottle Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Sorry, but we didn't like these very much. They were very easy to make - a little time consuming with the chilling, rolling, cutting and dredging with sugar, but that's just par for the course. I did like the crumbly texture of these cookies. They are a delicate cookie, but I didn't have a problem with them being too crumbly to handle as some people have had. It feels strange saying this as most people seemed to have the opposite opinion, but we found these cookies to be very sweet. I know there is no sugar in the recipe, but the sugar on the outside and the sweet frosting definitely compensated for that. I might make these again if someone asks for them, but I won't be making them regularly. Sorry, but they didn't impress me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
These were good but waaay too rich for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
These cookies are cute but just way too buttery for me. I kept mine refrigerated because of the raw egg yolk in the filling...so that may be why they seemed so greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLA11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Shepherdsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I made a batch of these today, exactly as written, and they are exquisite little bites. I didn't have a small round cookie cutter, so I used a plastic medicine cup that came with my kids' cough medicine. It was the perfect size to make a 1-2 bite cookie. Whoever said "melt in your mouth" wasn't kidding. Delicious little bite...and not just your average Christmas cookie like everyone else is baking and sharing. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Didn't have any trouble with the dough crumbling. Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This is one of the 7 types of cookies we make for Yule, according to Norwegian tradition, and the favorite of everyone in my Family. Tiny, delicate, and they melt in your mouth...YUM. And so pretty. We tint the frosting a light pink and they are the first to disappear from our cookie platter. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guttenberg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Independence, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I've know these cookies to be called CREME WAFFERS because they melt in your MOUTH.. and they get better each day!!! These are a must have every holiday season. I double the recipe and match two batches.. One to give as treats and one to keep as the whole family simply devours these cookies up. Some tips... This recipe seems like to fly by if you have a partner helping you. Also the tip with taping 4 forks together is a HUGE time saver with pricking your dough. Also they need to be only lightly golden. They are extremely fragile but that is the joy in them.. melting in your mouth!!! When it comes to frosting them... I used the buttercream frosting recipe halfed it and made green frosting and red frosting as well as some white. But use your imagination and use jelly as somebody else suggested or even a lemon filling would be awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIS_GIRL_99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
These cookies taste great, but I too had a problem with them sticking to the pan. They crumble so easy it was hard to ice them. I will just have to pratice thats all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOTDOG6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I got compliments on these shortbread type cookies. Some tips: don't try to do elaborate cookie cutter shapes as these cookies are too crumbly. Also, make sure they're a nice golden brown before you take them out of the oven--they need more baking than just waiting until they're puffed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Great recipe! I did them with heart shape cookie cutters and tinted pink frosting. The only troubles I had were in getting them off my cookie sheet and working with really wet dough. Next time I might add a bit more flour. As for the cookie sheet problem, I just made sure I didn't over bake the second batch and removed them from the cookie sheet quickly after pulling them out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States