Pill Bottle Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Great recipe! I did them with heart shape cookie cutters and tinted pink frosting. The only troubles I had were in getting them off my cookie sheet and working with really wet dough. Next time I might add a bit more flour. As for the cookie sheet problem, I just made sure I didn't over bake the second batch and removed them from the cookie sheet quickly after pulling them out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
yum. but how did it get its name? and all its other names for that matter???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mournfields

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I've know these cookies to be called CREME WAFFERS because they melt in your MOUTH.. and they get better each day!!! These are a must have every holiday season. I double the recipe and match two batches.. One to give as treats and one to keep as the whole family simply devours these cookies up. Some tips... This recipe seems like to fly by if you have a partner helping you. Also the tip with taping 4 forks together is a HUGE time saver with pricking your dough. Also they need to be only lightly golden. They are extremely fragile but that is the joy in them.. melting in your mouth!!! When it comes to frosting them... I used the buttercream frosting recipe halfed it and made green frosting and red frosting as well as some white. But use your imagination and use jelly as somebody else suggested or even a lemon filling would be awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIS_GIRL_99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
These are a must-make cookie every Christmas. I started making these for my brothers when we were all still at home and now that we're all on our own they won't spend Christmas at my house unless I promise to make a batch of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
These were such a huge hit at work and at home. They're absolutely scrumptious! I did find that the middles firm up nicely if you put them in the fridge for a while before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
They take a little time but are worth the effort. Instead of making a fork prick square on each cookie I found it easier to make three fork pricks in a row. When I did the square sometimes the dough would break before I could get it to the baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
I had this cookie years ago at a wedding and searched for the recipe...and finally found it here! This is a perfect cookie for a tea party or shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
These go quicker if you roll 1/3 of the dough between two sheets of plastic wrap, then just spread the suger over both sides of the sticky dough before cutting out. You can only roll once, but as with any pastry, the more you roll the worse it gets. Also try taping 3-4 forks together separated by skewers. Then you only have to tap each cookie once! I've made 300+ of these before, and these were real time savers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Simply Addictive. We did cookie baskets for Xmas this year and this was a hit. Had husbands and wifes ticked off that one or the other ate more than their share of this cookie. We stuffed them with the cream provided. Added Cocoa and chocolate to a bit of it for some and strawberry jam for others. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This is one of the 7 types of cookies we make for Yule, according to Norwegian tradition, and the favorite of everyone in my Family. Tiny, delicate, and they melt in your mouth...YUM. And so pretty. We tint the frosting a light pink and they are the first to disappear from our cookie platter. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guttenberg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Independence, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States