Pilgrim Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Sooooo good! this was a hit with everyone, and very easy to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanab, Utah, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I served this pie for our Thanksgiving Desert and it disappeared pretty quickly. I loved the smooth velvety texture. I did think that the whipped cream was too sweet and will only use 1/8 cup next time. My cousin who "doesn't like pumpkin pie" had seconds! :) I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This pie was amazing. I used a crust recipe that my mom taught me years ago...I couldn't find evaporated milk here in Germany, so I used condensed milk. The result was still delicious. Some reviewers have stated that the pie wasn't sweet enough, but I was extremely happy with the sweetness--enough to remind you that it's dessert, not so much that your teeth hurt. Germans, French, and Australians alike were impressed with this American classic! And I'll certainly make it again with the whipped cream--the honey and ginger gave it that extra something. We also added the whipped cream to coffee for an added treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This is such a great recipe! Some of you said it wasn't sweet enough without the whipped cream, and I worried it wouldn't taste good. But with the three-fourths cup of honey in there and the spices, it tastes very sweet I think. And I didn't have the cream to make and I love it without it! This is my first time ever making a pumkin pie and I made it from the actual pumkin too, not canned, and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Great pumpkin pie... with an actual pumpkin flavor. The pie itself is not as sweet as a lot of pumpkin pies, as has been noted by the other reviewers... however, this is with reason! With the very sweet special whipped cream atop it, the pie is amazing. If you aren't having the cream, move to a different pie recipe. I was impressed when I had the cream with the pie... I sampled it ahead of time and was worried, but the flavor blends perfectly with the pie... waayyy better than regular whipped cream if you're having it with pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I don't usually enjoy pumpkin dishes, but this is the best pumpkin pie I have ever had. I think it is the honey that makes all the difference. I make it often now with homemade puree and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniela Smale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottobeuren, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Fabulous! Apples and pumpkin are a great combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This is the best pumpkin pie I have ever made and eaten. I have read others reviews who stated it wasn't sweet enough and needed to add extra sugar. I disagree, this pie is very sweet. I used creamed honey instead of liquid honey and maybe that made the difference, but any more sweetness and it would've been too much. I did add in some extra all spice and nutmeg as that is my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romyo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This recipe seemed interesting...with the honey and ginger and all, and when i made it, it turned out perfect. H However, I dont think it was very sweet. My normal pumpkin pie tastes very good and just sweet enough, but this one seemed to lack that sweetness. The ginger-honey whipped cream was very good and added some sweetness, but I think I might stick to my pie with the added whipped cream idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Tastes just like pumpkin pie, except with the fresh pumpkin flavor. I am not very good with pastries but even the crust turned out very good! I might keep that recipe for other pies. I added a dash of nutmeg, because it just goes well with pumpkin. The whip cream was perfect, nice suttle flavor that just complimented the pie nicely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States