Pilgrim Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I don't eat Pumpkin Pie but my wife loves it. She said it was very very good. She said the recipe was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I've made this several times and each time it gets better. If you want to use store brought pastry I would suggest wrapping foil around the edges for 1/2 the baking time depending on your oven temp. variables. I used my Jack-o-lantern from Halloween carved it up and baked it in the oven face side down in an inch or so of water, and then scooped the insides. I used a Magic Bullet to blend small batches (no need to strain) and froze 2c in each bag. Some of my batches when unfrozen seemed watery so I simmered on low for 20mins or so to get the water out before mixing in the ingredients for the pie filing. Also the honey ginger cream is a nice addition. Brings out the favors in the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This is amazing if you want a pie with more flavor and less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I make this pie every Thanksgiving. I am a pumpkin pie lover but this it truly the best pumpkin pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Amazing, a perfect pumpkin pie with a great crust. The ginger cream is a unique addition. I used half honey and half maple syrup - delicious and aromatic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This pie is wonderful. I like pumpkin puree from a can just fine, but if you want an extra treat (with a little extra effort), try baking your own pumpkins--this recipe works great for that. I used my own pie crust recipe and added a little nutmeg, but other than that I followed the recipe. I liked that it wasn't quite as sweet as the recipe on the pumpkin can... the honey taste was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Loved the consistency of the pie filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I used pumpkin butter that I made as the base for this pie and this was AMAZING! The pie was super smooth and perfectly flavored; what I should do is create my own recipe on this website using pumpkin butter as the base for pie because this was a really great idea!! I skipped out on all the spices since they were already in my pumpkin butter. After everything was mixed up, it seemed very runny (more runny than normal pumpkin pie filling) so I added about 1/4 cup of whipped cream and that did the trick! I used a pre-made frozen crust since I had slaved for hours over the pumpkin butter already...but this pie was REALLY yummy! I will definitely make it again. The whipped cream with honey and ginger was a nice compliment to the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Very cooperative crust and filling. It is a perfectly classic pumpkin pie (which I will use the recipe for in the future). There was no "wow-factor" that caused non-pumpkin lovers to suddenly like it, but that's ok. The only thing I didn't like was the whipped cream. Was too sweet and I could not taste the ginger at all. I might try cinnamon next time, but will definately omit the honey. Anyway, thanks a lot for sharing and happy thanksgiving! PS if you don't have vinnegar, use lemon juice for the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This is super easy! We tested it out last night, and it was wonderful. However, no topping. I made the topping for Thanksgiving, it was good, then I added cinnimon! This made the topping to die for! I did use a premade crust because I have never had any luck with homemade crusts. The only reason a 4 and not a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States