Pilgrim Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Oh My! This pie is good. Fern is right! I don't know what makes it so different, but it really is smooth and good! The crust is by far the easiest and yummiest recipe I have found. I will now use it for all my pies and will always make this pumpkin pie for the holidays. I did add some nutmeg, other than that followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
One word: DELICIOUS. I prepared my own pumpkin puree, by boiling the pumpkin - big mistake as the puree was quite soupy. Never-the-less, I added 5 Tbsp cornstarch and simmered for over an hour being careful not to scortch. I added only about 6 oz of evaporated milk to the mix and added a 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and allspice. I also increased the bake time by 13 minutes and HOORAY i got a solid beautiful, delicious pie! Next time though I may reduce the honey and some spices by a pinch as it was quite pungent. Also, I used butter in place of shortening for the crust and it came out well; watch the amount of salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIN1YNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homebush Bay, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This is a great pumpkin pie. I used the recipe to make 2 pies instead of one - which was a mistake. Next time I will make just one fat pie! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cloudcroft, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
This reciepie is so easy to follow, even for a foreigner as me(danish). It tastes heavenly and fulfilled a dream of mine since 1993(last time I had pumpkinpie). Thx Fern
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
I have made various recipes for pumpkin pie and this one has stood out as a family favorite. My husband and all 5 kids agreed...and that rarely happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
I didn't make the crust from scratch, used a store bought crust. This pie has a heavy ginger taste, so next time I will add a little nutmeg and a little more cinnamon (just a personal preference). I love the honey addition, but I have a serious sweet tooth, and next time I will add a little sugar in addition to the honey. Good recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
This is probably one of the easiest and tastiest pumpkin pies I've ever had. I made one for a party where there was plenty of food and sweets and it was gone in record time. The honey ginger cream is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This was the first pumpkin pie I've ever made. It was easy and popular with my guests (even the ones who don't like pumpkin pie). I found the recipe lacking a few spices though, next time, I'll add some nutmeg and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
This is a great recipe. I didn't use the Honey ginger cream, but will definately give it a try. The crust was great and simple too. This is the crust that I use on all my pies now. No waiting for it to chill is my favorite part. This is a holiday keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
Good pumpkin pie recipe. It was finished off after Thanksgiving dinner. The ginger/honey whipped cream is a nice addition for those who want a spoonful on their pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States