Pilgrim Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Awesome. Doubled the recipe and made 2 pies and crusts. Used half honey, half sugar because I didn't want to use all of my expensive honey in one recipe. The pie dough is very sticky so be sure to use the advice of another reviewer and roll between 2 sheets of cling wrap for better handling. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This recipe was amazing. It was my first time ever making a pie crust and it came out perfectly. I was very happy with this recipe, as well as my family and I will be using it on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bumblebeesting

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
On my next run through I would make the crust as well as the pie filling a little sweeter, it came out on the bitter side. The whipped cream however was amazing, I will be using that in other recipies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This recipe is absolutely fool-proof. The crust is the best, flakiest and easiest crust to make, and the pie filling is just delicious. I find the filling is a little much to fill a 9" pan, and instead use an 11" ceramic pan I got from my gramma. More pie for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This is awesome! We love it! We use cream instead of evaporated milk and sugar instead of honey. We reduce the sugar when using store-bought pie crust but otherwise leave the same. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I've used a frozen pie shell, so I'll comment only on the filling and whipped cream. First of all there was too much for a deep pie shell. And secondly, although I baked the pie extra 15 minutes, it wouldn't set. I had to take it out because it was getting too dark. I also added a 1/4tsp of nutmeg due to personal preference of spices in my pumpkin pie. Maybe my pie didn't set because I used rice and almond milk. Well, we still ate the "soupy" pie. I must say that it was too sweet. Next time I'll reduce the amount of milk and honey. I did make the whipping cream, but I put a lot less honey. It was a really good addition to the pie: not as bland as plain whipped cream; more like a really light frosting. It's worth making with lesser amount of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
That was the first pie I've done and it turned out good but too sweet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
absulutely excellent never tasted pumpkin pie this good...........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is the only pumpkin pie recipe i use.my grandmother used to make this same recipe.i was surprised to see the crust recipe.Has i have kept this from my sister for years.ha ha i now make the pies since grandma has passed.(20 yrs ago).guess its not a secret anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kat
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This pie was good. I liked using Honey instead of sugar, but I found the cinnamon and spices a little overpowering.. next time I would cut back on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States