Pike's Gooey Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Used it in crepes, it was delicious! Would be great with vanilla ice cream. I'm going to try it in a cake mix next. I'm not sure if I'll tweak it or not, it's good enough the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Pretty good. The texture is a little weird...kind of slimy rather than syrupy (I guess that's why it's called "gooey" syrup...I'm wondering if this is from the pectin in the apples?) I found the flavor a bit too sweet and slightly flat so I ended up adding a pinch of salt, a splash of vanilla, about an 1/8th tsp of nutmeg and lemon juice until it had enough acidity for my liking. The kids loved it and Hubby thought it was okay (but he doesn't like a lot of cinnamon while the rest of us do, and this definitely has a bold cinnamon taste to it). Over all, quite good, will be making it again. Plated on pancakes with a little dollop of real whipped cream on top and it was pretty enough for pictures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Top drawer! Threw everything into the slow cooker and omitted the nuts. Used frozen apples from our trees and they cooked down beautifully. Took this to a party where it was served warm with crepes. People were begging for the recipe and talked about the delicious aroma and taste. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I cut this recipe by half. I actually used Granny Smith apples (for a little tartness) and I added a half teaspoon of nutmeg. I served this over Extra Yummy Fluffy Pancakes, which are also on this site. The kids and I thought it was great, though I thought it was quite a bit sweet. I don't know what purpose the corn syrup adds to this recipe, other than a thickening agent. Next time, I might cut it out entirely and see if I don't get the same result, then update my review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
A nice, new, quick and tasty syrup! We both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Very good. I served it over fresh waffles. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was easy and excellent. I had walnuts instead of pecans, and used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar since it was all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mih4vyl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This is a very good syrup, but with two suggestions: reduce the cinnamon by one teaspoon, and increase the corn syrup by one tablespoon. With 3 teaspoons of cinnamon I found it to be overpowering, and the addition of one tablespoon of corn syrup thickened it a little bit - it was too thin, and didn't have that "gooey" texture. Otherwise, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
We had this over pancakes and my family could not get enough. I can't wait to have the leftovers on some vanilla ice cream. Next time I will cut back slightly on the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kattyler943

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Yum! We had this on the Whole Wheat Pancakes from this site, but it would be perfect on ice cream and many other things, too. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States