Pikelets (Scottish Pancakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I added a spoonful of blackberry preserves to the recipe and just threw all the ingredients in the blender. When I poured the mix on the skillet for the first pancakes I was worried that it looked a little thin, but they puffed up nicely. They were light, fluffy and moist. Hubby and I agreed that these were the best pancakes we've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybyron8384

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Light, fluffy, delicious & easy to work with. My only suggestion is reduce the amount of sugar, and then sweeten to taste by serving with jam or syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I don't care what you call these, I love this recipe. I've also made them adding a teaspoon of cinnamon, and eat them without any toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
My Aunt Jenny, born and raised in Scotland, made these "wee treats" and called them Sweet Pancakes. They are suppose to be small "dollar" pancakes, sweet and fluffy, and we loved them! Warm or cold, plain or topped, they are perfect for little hands... or with Mom's tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pipster

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I agree this recipe is for drop scones. We don't use the word 'piklets' for this type of thing. I think its more of a Yorkshire word for crumpets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
These were definitely the fluffiest pancakes I've ever made. I was pleased. I was displeased at the amount of sugar, because it will make them more likely to burn. I'd eliminate it entirely next time--this time I did reduce the sugar to about 2 TB. Also, I'm not sure what 5 people are eating these. I did make mine a bit bigger than the recipe specified, but I still only got 7 pancakes (excuse me, pikelets) out of this recipe. Just a heads-up for anyone else who was thinking of trying these. You really should, it's a nice tasty basic pancake :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
These were good, if you like sweet,eggy,and somewhat tasteless pancakes. The recipe is very nice and simple if you follow it. I didn't, I automatically started beating the eggs before looking at the directions, oops, they ended up lumpy. Anyway, the directions are good and I think cutting the sugar in half would improve them greatly. I give it 4 stars for a good recipe in theory, written well, accurate picture, good description, and potentially tasty results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hisdaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Arguments about naming and authenticity aside, these are pretty basic, good pancakes. I subbed honey for sugar on the basis of someone's review who recommended corn syrup--don't have that, but I definitely have honey! I also was not in the mood to measure anything this morning, and ended up with some thick little pikelets. I probably did it all wrong, but they were easy and relatively quick. I don't use butter bc it doesn't agree with me, so I just used Pam instead to coat the pan. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I found this recipe very misleading. What we in Scotland call a Pancake, sassenachs and other non-Celts call a DROP SCONE. That which the Southern Brittish call a Pancake, we Scots call a crumpet. You North Americans also call it a pancake, which you eat with Maple Syrup, Ice Cream, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This is a good recipe, but a bit runny and much better if you use golden syrup instead of sugar. (I think you lot call it corn syrup?) By the way, pikelets are Welsh. These are drop scones. To DannyMuirMhor: Who're you calling a sassanach, ye raj? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States