Pigs in a Blanket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I made these tonight in several different ways. I used refrigerated crescent rolls instead of biscuit dough and cut each triangle in half. In my opinion you could even cut the dough in half again if you're trying to cut down on carbs. There was a lot of bread on each dog. I used 97% fat free Hebrew National dogs that I cut into four small dogs. In each of those I put a piece of pepper jack cheese (I cut one slice of cheese into 8 rectangles). A few of them I left without the pepper jack but I will say that the pepper jack really made it taste great. I also made some of them with little smokies...some with shredded cheddar cheese on the dough before I rolled them up and some without cheese. My family and I agree that we didn't taste the cheddar in there at all. The little smokies have plenty of flavor so you don't need cheese when you use them. I'll definitely make these again...probably with both the HN dogs and the LS dogs...and definitely with the pepper jack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I actually used Jimmy Dean frozen breakfast sausages instead of hot dogs and refrigerated croissant dough for a quick breakfast for my boys. I don't keep american cheese on hand so I used a couple slices of Tillamook cheddar that I cut into fourths and tucked one piece into each "blanket". The kids thought this was great. I thought it was good only because I was one less item in my freezer and it used up a whomp canister of crossant dough. This recipe really works with whatever "dog", cheese or "blanket" you may have on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Marlee'sMom
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I made these for my daughter's 3-yr. preschool class for their year-end picnic. At the advice of other reviewers, I used the crescent roll dough and little smokies. I also cut the crescent rolls in half and as one person said, 2 tubes of crescent rolls per 1 package of little smokies worked great! I omitted the cheese this time, but will add next time. They tasted great hot and at room temp, and went FAST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlee'sMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Simple to make with great results. Warning: you can't eat just one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I tried these the way the recipe calls and the way other reviewers suggested.. We liked Lil' smokies, crecent rolls better. We cut the crecent roll in half and used shredded fiesta blend cheese. We didnt put that much cheese in them and they were really good. Next time we'll put more cheese though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THREADandNEEDLEgal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was super fast and very good. Instead of the processed cheese inside, I added some shredded chedder cheese on top when they were done and still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdodrill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Delicious and so easy and so cheap. I used cresent rolls because it's what I had on hand. I didn't have cheese so I sprinkled some parmessan on top and dipped them in barbecue sauce. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erhard, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
These are a classic, my kids always love them! Im so glad I found such a simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
made this for super bowl weekend 2/7/10, everyone ate it so fast, i had to make more. One suggestion you can use hot-dogs instead of frankfurters. I thought frankfurters would taste different from a hot-dogs but really there is no difference in taste, and hot dogs are cheaper. Try this recipe, its great finger food and the guys will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Much better with croissants from a tube than the biscuit dough--its easier too. I cut each triangle in half (making 2 long thin triangles), then rolled a coktail weiner (Lil Smokies) in each. Makes 32 "piggies." 1 pkg of lil smokies needs 2 tubes of croissants. I didnt do cheese cuz so many other reviewers omitted the cheese, but wish i would have done cheese on some of them. All I had on hand was american which didnt appeal to me. I definately want to try it with a white cheese like swiss or monterey jack. I served them with ketchup, BBQ sauce, and mustard--everyone had their favorite condiment to dip it in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pigs in a Blanket

Kids love this easy snack—just roll and bake.

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Quick Quiche

This dense, flavorful quiche doesn't need a crust to be a brunch star.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States