Pigs in a Blanket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I used croissants. they were very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Pretty good! These are a quick-fix staple that even kiddos will approve of. I had a rough day and was in no mood to spend time in the kitchen. Although not the best meal I've ever made, these were a fun trip down memory lane (my mom made these often growing up). Because I remember pigs in a blanket being made with crescent roll dough, that's what I used (I've never heard of using biscuit dough...). I had exactly 4 Johnsonville brand beef stadium brats left from the weekend, so I used those instead of hot dogs. I baked up 4 of these and then made the other 4 crescents so that I'd have them handy to serve with dinner tomorrow night. NOTE: You can use reduced-fat ingredients if you prefer. I used reduced-fat crescents and American cheese singles with excellent results (mom would be so proud lol!). Served with baked beans on the side, this was a perfect "no brain power required" meal. :-) Thanks Brandie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Great finger food for Sunday football! Instead of using american cheese i used pepper-jack instead to give it a little kick! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This is a quick easy recipe that I have used for years except that I don't add the cheese. I put shredded cheese on the table in case anyone wants to sprinkle it on the hot dough. Even people that aren't big hot dog fans normally like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
These are really good but the crescent rolls burn every time I make them. Maybe it's because I'm using crescent rolls instead of biscuits and I do omit the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Mine always seem to stick to the cookie sheet, so I spray it with non-stick spray or line it with aluminum foil. Only 3 stars because not all of us like cheese with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stormyyskyy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I used half a Nathans hot dog for each roll. They were easy and tastey. I did not have a problem with the cheese melting out as some others described. These are a nice change from hot dog rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Love these! I use lil smokies and crescent roll dough and omit the cheese but still great any way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mctmagill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
These were good, but they need some tweaking. They looked so pretty when they went into the oven, but all the cheese melted out which made them stick to the pan. Next time I would do the same thing, but leave the cheese out. I will either top it w/ cheese right before they are done, or have some melted on the side to dip them into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinagail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Well, it's not a party without these little bite size treats! Who knew such few ingredients could produce something so good! I use Pillbury crescent rolls and cut them with a pizza cutter to make things easy. I always spray a bit of Pam so nothing sticks. I heat my oven to 375 vs. 350 for baking. I serve these with a variety of dipping sauces - bbq, honey mustard, spicy brown mustard, dijon, apricot jam mixed with a bit of bbq sauce -the possibilites are endless! One thing is for sure, these are always a hit at get togethers and you're guests will definitely thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pigs in a Blanket

Kids love this easy snack—just roll and bake.

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Quick Quiche

This dense, flavorful quiche doesn't need a crust to be a brunch star.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States