Pigs in a Blanket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2000
When out of canned biscuits you can use Bisquick mix (biscuit recipe) or throw together 1 cup flour, 1 egg, and a pinch of salt (add a little water if needed) ((This is actually the recipe for homemade egg noodles but I have used it several times when I didn't have any biscuits and they never know the difference))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
331 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
this is a good recipe. for another variation, split the hot dog lengthwise down the middle being careful not to go all the way through. fill the split with cheese and wrap the hot dog with bacon slices using toothpicks to secure. bake in oven at 375 til bacon is crispy and cheese is melted. this is how my mom and grandmother made pigs in a blanket when i was growing up. fattening, but yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
These are very good for an even easier version i just used cheese stuffed frankfuters the kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
I love hot dogs and this came out great BUT... I have to tell you what NOT to do when you make these. My wife doesn't care for hot dogs so I always have then when she isn't home!! I would toss them in the microwave and make quick hot dogs. Well.... When I made this recipe, I did the same thing. I followed the recipe perfectly except I put them in the MICROWAVE OVEN for fifteen minutes!!! I thought they looked a little over done when I took them out of the oven... I started to take one of them off the plate but it was stuck like glue to the plate. After prying it off the plate I noticed that the hot dog was light as a feather (there was absolutely NO moisture left in the bread or the frankfurter). It was dry as a cork. I attempted to take a bite and found that although it was light as a feather, it was also hard as a rock!! I sat looking at the hot dogs trying to figure what went wrong!! Only then did I realize that I should have put them in the regular oven. My second attemp at the recipe, I put them in the regurar oven and they came out five star great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
488 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
I have been making these for years. I use little hotdogs. I never added cheese. That sounds good. Nextime I make these I will add chees. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This was great and very kid friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
Was real easy and everyone liked them -- most people 'remembered' them from growing up so that was neat. I used regular hot dogs and cut them into thirds. Also used low fat (or turkey) hot dogs and low fat crescent rolls -- and they came out as good as the regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
My kids love them, and I still do after having them as a child. I keep it simple: roll out an 8-pack of crescent rolls, split into four sections; put a slice of American cheese & a whole hotdog on each section; roll em up & cook em. My oldest prepares them, I cook them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
I like real cheese but these were very easy to make. We all liked them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissBethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
My son was so excited for these today. I used little smokies and croissant dough. No cheese for us. These came out great and are super simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pigs in a Blanket

Kids love this easy snack—just roll and bake.

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Quick Quiche

This dense, flavorful quiche doesn't need a crust to be a brunch star.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States