Pigs in a Blanket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2000
When out of canned biscuits you can use Bisquick mix (biscuit recipe) or throw together 1 cup flour, 1 egg, and a pinch of salt (add a little water if needed) ((This is actually the recipe for homemade egg noodles but I have used it several times when I didn't have any biscuits and they never know the difference))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
322 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
These are very good for an even easier version i just used cheese stuffed frankfuters the kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
this is a good recipe. for another variation, split the hot dog lengthwise down the middle being careful not to go all the way through. fill the split with cheese and wrap the hot dog with bacon slices using toothpicks to secure. bake in oven at 375 til bacon is crispy and cheese is melted. this is how my mom and grandmother made pigs in a blanket when i was growing up. fattening, but yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
Kid friendly, tasty, quick- perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This was great and very kid friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I did my own variation of the recipe, by using the cocktail size "little smokies," which are basically little sausages (very flavorful) and wrapping them in either the biscuit or croissant dough. We made them for the superbowl (served with mustard), and they were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
Was real easy and everyone liked them -- most people 'remembered' them from growing up so that was neat. I used regular hot dogs and cut them into thirds. Also used low fat (or turkey) hot dogs and low fat crescent rolls -- and they came out as good as the regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
I have been making these for years. I use little hotdogs. I never added cheese. That sounds good. Nextime I make these I will add chees. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
I love hot dogs and this came out great BUT... I have to tell you what NOT to do when you make these. My wife doesn't care for hot dogs so I always have then when she isn't home!! I would toss them in the microwave and make quick hot dogs. Well.... When I made this recipe, I did the same thing. I followed the recipe perfectly except I put them in the MICROWAVE OVEN for fifteen minutes!!! I thought they looked a little over done when I took them out of the oven... I started to take one of them off the plate but it was stuck like glue to the plate. After prying it off the plate I noticed that the hot dog was light as a feather (there was absolutely NO moisture left in the bread or the frankfurter). It was dry as a cork. I attempted to take a bite and found that although it was light as a feather, it was also hard as a rock!! I sat looking at the hot dogs trying to figure what went wrong!! Only then did I realize that I should have put them in the regular oven. My second attemp at the recipe, I put them in the regurar oven and they came out five star great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
479 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
One of our all-time favorites. I usually use sliced cheddar - just personal preference. A lttle yellow mustard on top and you're good to go. We even like these cold the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pigs in a Blanket

Kids love this easy snack—just roll and bake.

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Quick Quiche

This dense, flavorful quiche doesn't need a crust to be a brunch star.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States