Pigs in a Blanket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I loved this. I used beef dogs (and soy dogs as well and both are good). I also played around with the cheeses. Just as is the recipe is great but I added a horseradish mustard to some and hot sauce to some. They were very good. I will certainly make them again and use biscuit dough and not the crescent dough anymore. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was really fun to make with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I'm sure they are great, but this doesn't necessarily qualify as a 'recipe' so much as it is a couple steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made these today for lunch. Very yummy. I used left over grilled hotdogs and Monterey Jack cheese. Soooo yummy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I made these tonight in several different ways. I used refrigerated crescent rolls instead of biscuit dough and cut each triangle in half. In my opinion you could even cut the dough in half again if you're trying to cut down on carbs. There was a lot of bread on each dog. I used 97% fat free Hebrew National dogs that I cut into four small dogs. In each of those I put a piece of pepper jack cheese (I cut one slice of cheese into 8 rectangles). A few of them I left without the pepper jack but I will say that the pepper jack really made it taste great. I also made some of them with little smokies...some with shredded cheddar cheese on the dough before I rolled them up and some without cheese. My family and I agree that we didn't taste the cheddar in there at all. The little smokies have plenty of flavor so you don't need cheese when you use them. I'll definitely make these again...probably with both the HN dogs and the LS dogs...and definitely with the pepper jack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I actually used Jimmy Dean frozen breakfast sausages instead of hot dogs and refrigerated croissant dough for a quick breakfast for my boys. I don't keep american cheese on hand so I used a couple slices of Tillamook cheddar that I cut into fourths and tucked one piece into each "blanket". The kids thought this was great. I thought it was good only because I was one less item in my freezer and it used up a whomp canister of crossant dough. This recipe really works with whatever "dog", cheese or "blanket" you may have on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marlee'sMom
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I made these for my daughter's 3-yr. preschool class for their year-end picnic. At the advice of other reviewers, I used the crescent roll dough and little smokies. I also cut the crescent rolls in half and as one person said, 2 tubes of crescent rolls per 1 package of little smokies worked great! I omitted the cheese this time, but will add next time. They tasted great hot and at room temp, and went FAST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlee'sMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Simple to make with great results. Warning: you can't eat just one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I tried these the way the recipe calls and the way other reviewers suggested.. We liked Lil' smokies, crecent rolls better. We cut the crecent roll in half and used shredded fiesta blend cheese. We didnt put that much cheese in them and they were really good. Next time we'll put more cheese though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THREADandNEEDLEgal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was super fast and very good. Instead of the processed cheese inside, I added some shredded chedder cheese on top when they were done and still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdodrill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pigs in a Blanket

Kids love this easy snack—just roll and bake.

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States