Pigs in a Blanket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I used crescent rolls and hot dogs with chesse in them to save time. I can say my 5 year old LOVED this meal and ate as much as he could. I'm not a big fan of anything to do with hot dogs, but this was a definite change of pace and quite tasty. My son enjoyed helping me prepare these as well. PERFECT for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This is a wonderful, fun recipe to make. We only made a few minor adjustments from the original recipe: We preheated the oven to 400 degrees instead of 350 degrees. We also used two packages of cocktail weiners (Li'l Smokies) and 4 tubes of Pillsbury Crescent Rolls instead of biscuit dough. We tried the biscuit dough last year but after using the crescent dough this year we found we like that a lot better. Make sure you cut the crescent rolls in half first before you wrap them around the Li'l Smokies. We omitted the cheese and baked them on a "greased" cookie sheet. These taste best fresh out of the oven as then tend to get kind of soft the next day if refrigerated in a Ziploc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
782 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Laurel, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
My son had to make an outdoor meal for cub scouts and we used this recipe. The only thing we changed was wraping them in foil and putting them on the grill. They were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Not as good as other ones I have tasted from other people who have cooked them. Don't know why- but the kids liked them and they were easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Very nice recipe; but please, please use real cheese instead of American process. I used some thin slices shaved off a cheap block of Monterey Jack that I had around... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I made mini pigs in a blanket using crescent rolls and cocktail hot dogs. They were a perfect pick for teens watching a football game. They were gone in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I used to have these as a kid ALOT, house of picky eaters. :) I prefer these with crescent rolls, the flakey texture of a crescent roll adds something to this very basic, kid-friendly recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Brigham City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This is a great recipe for the family! My kids love it and it doesn't take long to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I would have given these a three, but my kids and hubby gave them a five, so we've compromised on a four. I thought these were pretty good, but did not care for the rubbery texture of the american cheese once it cooled. My kids and husband ate these like mad. I have enough ingredients to make them again in a day or two, and I think I'll try sprinkling on a little colby/jack or cheddar instead of using a slice of american.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
My daughters always like these for a quick meal. I make a pocket in the hot dog and add sticks of sharp cheddar, as my husband doesn't care for American cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pigs in a Blanket

Kids love this easy snack—just roll and bake.

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Quick Quiche

This dense, flavorful quiche doesn't need a crust to be a brunch star.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States