Pignoli Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
HINT - you can't change the sugar to 2/3 a cup and still use 2 egg whites. I will try it again with only 1. I decided to double the recipe, using 1 pound almond paste (2 solo cans), 1 and 1/3 cups sugar (2/3rds x2), and only 3 egg whites (instead of 4). Cookies were delicious BUT flat. I will try this again as is next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Excellent recipe better than any italian bakery in Brooklyn. Did mix the sugar with the egg whites and added a tablespoon of Amaretto liquor. Highly recommend these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This recipe is perfect as is, except I baked mine for about 15 minutes so they got golden on top. Some tips I have are 1. Definitely toast the pine nuts! 2. Use a silicon baking mat, they turn out fluffier and they do not stick. 3. I used 1 cup of sugar and gradually added it in the food processor. I found this helped granulate the (Solo brand) almond paste. 4. *Important* I like to drop them in 1/2 to 1 teaspoonfuls since they spread out so much - you can probably end up with about 30-36 cookies if you do it this way! Note, if you do it this way, buy about 1/2 cup of pine nuts so you can be sure to have enough to cover the tops. These are just fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Amazing!!! I have loved pignoli cookies for awhile and have only been able to find good ones in NYC. Never did I think I could make them on my own. They were so simple to make and taste just like the ones found in Italian bakeries. Thank you!! note: These are best when eaten the same day they are made, while they're nice and soft:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
delish..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ru Lightcap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Millsboro, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
cookies came out flat, too sweet!!! better when made with flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Easy and very flavorable. Chill the dough and use a silicome baking mat or parchment paper and you shouldn't have to worry about the cookies sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I make pignoli cookies every year for Christmas. this recipe is better than our family recipe. The egg whites give it a wonderful texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I am a baker and these cookies are delicious. A couple of comments. The amount of egg whites is perfect, you just have to use large eggs or smaller. You cannot use XLarge eggs or it won't be right. The sugar is too much but you can't go wrong. I recommend doubling the recipe and keeping the sugar at 1 cup for the double recipe. Finally, the tinfoil baking method is genius. Put tinfoil shiny side up, spray with Pam and you are good to go. Also, kudos to the person who recommended toasting the nuts slightly before baking; it is infinitely better. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
The flavor is good but the baking is horrible. I left them baking far longer than was stated in the recipie. I put them back I don't know how many times at 2 and 3 minute pops. I didn't read the reviews as I do most of the time because I was in a hurry. Per the reviews, perhaps parchment paper would have done the trick. I buttered and floured the pan and the cookies still stuck. They didn't brown like I thought they should and they were very gooey in the middle of the cookie. It was a big if, IF I got them off the pan without breaking. I am a baker and make tons of cookies, especially at Christmas time. Very unlikely that I will make these again. The ingredients are far too expensive to land up with a pile of crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSROSYROSU

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States