Pignoli Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Easy and delicious! I substituted half of the sugar with Spenda and the results were excellent. I'll definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
HINT - you can't change the sugar to 2/3 a cup and still use 2 egg whites. I will try it again with only 1. I decided to double the recipe, using 1 pound almond paste (2 solo cans), 1 and 1/3 cups sugar (2/3rds x2), and only 3 egg whites (instead of 4). Cookies were delicious BUT flat. I will try this again as is next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Excellent recipe better than any italian bakery in Brooklyn. Did mix the sugar with the egg whites and added a tablespoon of Amaretto liquor. Highly recommend these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This recipe is perfect as is, except I baked mine for about 15 minutes so they got golden on top. Some tips I have are 1. Definitely toast the pine nuts! 2. Use a silicon baking mat, they turn out fluffier and they do not stick. 3. I used 1 cup of sugar and gradually added it in the food processor. I found this helped granulate the (Solo brand) almond paste. 4. *Important* I like to drop them in 1/2 to 1 teaspoonfuls since they spread out so much - you can probably end up with about 30-36 cookies if you do it this way! Note, if you do it this way, buy about 1/2 cup of pine nuts so you can be sure to have enough to cover the tops. These are just fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Amazing!!! I have loved pignoli cookies for awhile and have only been able to find good ones in NYC. Never did I think I could make them on my own. They were so simple to make and taste just like the ones found in Italian bakeries. Thank you!! note: These are best when eaten the same day they are made, while they're nice and soft:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
delish..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ru Lightcap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Millsboro, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
cookies came out flat, too sweet!!! better when made with flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Easy and very flavorable. Chill the dough and use a silicome baking mat or parchment paper and you shouldn't have to worry about the cookies sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I make pignoli cookies every year for Christmas. this recipe is better than our family recipe. The egg whites give it a wonderful texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I am a baker and these cookies are delicious. A couple of comments. The amount of egg whites is perfect, you just have to use large eggs or smaller. You cannot use XLarge eggs or it won't be right. The sugar is too much but you can't go wrong. I recommend doubling the recipe and keeping the sugar at 1 cup for the double recipe. Finally, the tinfoil baking method is genius. Put tinfoil shiny side up, spray with Pam and you are good to go. Also, kudos to the person who recommended toasting the nuts slightly before baking; it is infinitely better. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States