Pignoli Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by luv2bake
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This was my first time making these &it was definitely trial &error for me. I decided to use this recipe due to the fact that it had less ingredients and seemed to be the better one based off of reviews. I agree with previous reviewers regarding the amount of sugar and egg whites being too much. I also wasn't 100% sure why most recipes I've seen call for confectioners sugar &white sugar so I split the sugar called for in this recipe between the 2. My batter as you can see from one of my pictures was runny causing me to have flat cookies. I placed the batter in the fridge for half an hour and it didn't make a difference. I began to add flour to the batter in order to thicken it and only after adding what felt like more flour than should've been necessary, and placing in the fridge overnight, was the batter in better shape. I was finally able to roll the sticky goodness into little balls and press in the pine nuts before baking. I flattened them down slightly. I coated my entire cookie in the nuts, which I believe made it much easier for taking them off of the baking sheet (which I lined with the shiny side up of aluminum foil and cooking spray). In regards to toasting the pine nuts- you can see from both of my pics that they ended up overly toasty and some even burnt after baking. I wouldn't do that again as they toast slightly during the baking process. I also had to lower my oven to 315°F and extend the baking time. I would definitely try this recipe again but with caution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
These cookies taste good, although I think I will cut down the sugar next time to 3/4 but I had to cook them more than double the stated 10-12 minute cook time. Use very small spoonfuls when placing on the baking sheet, the smaller cookies had a better look and texture than the larger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was fantastic. First time I ever made them, too. I tried to stick to the inital directions (i hate reading reviews with an entire alteration) but I only had a one shot deal for company: I used 3/4 cups sugar and about 3/4 of the egg whites. I beat two as directed but I felt I didnt need all of it. I also through the batter in the fridge for 20 min and I think that helped with minimal spreading. The foil helped but I think if you let them cool long enough, you wont have a problem with parchment. The only difference really is i needed 15 mins to bake. Using a melon scooper gave a perfect size cookie, yielding 22 cookies. Next time, i think i'll fill the scooper with the pine nuts (which i also roasted) and then scopp the batter so I dont have such a tedious time patting them all in. Simply divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
These cookies were a request from a guest whose "Nona" made them all the time in his childhood. I used this recipe and he loved them! I have had to send the recipe on to many other friends as well. I will make these often (never telling anyone of the simplicity of the recipe)and enjoy the accolades! So bravo and thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
PERFECT!!!! Just like Del Prete's! Pretty easy too. I read the tips... The foil shiney side up with light spray of Pam works great.... Using a blender a great idea. I love the Ninja blender, it really does a great job breaking up the almond paste. I doubled the recipe, but used a little less sugar. Also toasted the pine nuts, that was a great idea. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this recipe with ingredients as written and they came out perfect! Brought back childhood memories! Here are are a few hints...I used parchment and had no problems. Just use a thin metal spatula after they cool slightly to release. Also, change the parchement sheets in between batches. I used the food processor for the entire mixing part. Put the paste in and slowly add sugar. Then add the egg whites. I forgot to whip them first but I think the food processor did that for me anyway. Pack on the nuts as they spread. The processor was great because I refrigerated the mixture in between as it is a little thin and this kept it from thinning further due to warmth. VERY PLEASED with this recipe as it is so simple and uses the least amount of ingredients. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
actually, my sister in law made these and they are terrific! I'm going to make them next bc these are my husbands favorite cookie! She did say that you must whip the egg whites or they come out flat. Her's were perfect! Better than the bakery for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
The best recipie ever...easy too !Use parchment paper to bake on. Never made them before...They turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
aaaahhhhh this is the best, eaten in italy, if ya want, cook fifteen minutes more, they become crisp. yum;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
These are delicious, but mine turned out really flat and spread out a lot while baking... what went wrong? Is it better to add a little flour? Or are there other tricks?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States