Pignoli Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
These cookies taste good, although I think I will cut down the sugar next time to 3/4 but I had to cook them more than double the stated 10-12 minute cook time. Use very small spoonfuls when placing on the baking sheet, the smaller cookies had a better look and texture than the larger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was fantastic. First time I ever made them, too. I tried to stick to the inital directions (i hate reading reviews with an entire alteration) but I only had a one shot deal for company: I used 3/4 cups sugar and about 3/4 of the egg whites. I beat two as directed but I felt I didnt need all of it. I also through the batter in the fridge for 20 min and I think that helped with minimal spreading. The foil helped but I think if you let them cool long enough, you wont have a problem with parchment. The only difference really is i needed 15 mins to bake. Using a melon scooper gave a perfect size cookie, yielding 22 cookies. Next time, i think i'll fill the scooper with the pine nuts (which i also roasted) and then scopp the batter so I dont have such a tedious time patting them all in. Simply divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
These cookies were a request from a guest whose "Nona" made them all the time in his childhood. I used this recipe and he loved them! I have had to send the recipe on to many other friends as well. I will make these often (never telling anyone of the simplicity of the recipe)and enjoy the accolades! So bravo and thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
PERFECT!!!! Just like Del Prete's! Pretty easy too. I read the tips... The foil shiney side up with light spray of Pam works great.... Using a blender a great idea. I love the Ninja blender, it really does a great job breaking up the almond paste. I doubled the recipe, but used a little less sugar. Also toasted the pine nuts, that was a great idea. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this recipe with ingredients as written and they came out perfect! Brought back childhood memories! Here are are a few hints...I used parchment and had no problems. Just use a thin metal spatula after they cool slightly to release. Also, change the parchement sheets in between batches. I used the food processor for the entire mixing part. Put the paste in and slowly add sugar. Then add the egg whites. I forgot to whip them first but I think the food processor did that for me anyway. Pack on the nuts as they spread. The processor was great because I refrigerated the mixture in between as it is a little thin and this kept it from thinning further due to warmth. VERY PLEASED with this recipe as it is so simple and uses the least amount of ingredients. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
actually, my sister in law made these and they are terrific! I'm going to make them next bc these are my husbands favorite cookie! She did say that you must whip the egg whites or they come out flat. Her's were perfect! Better than the bakery for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
The best recipie ever...easy too !Use parchment paper to bake on. Never made them before...They turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
aaaahhhhh this is the best, eaten in italy, if ya want, cook fifteen minutes more, they become crisp. yum;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
These are delicious, but mine turned out really flat and spread out a lot while baking... what went wrong? Is it better to add a little flour? Or are there other tricks?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Easy and delicious! I substituted half of the sugar with Spenda and the results were excellent. I'll definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States