Pignoli Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I'm not sure what went wrong. Maybe I should have read the reviews first about refrigerating before rolling into balls. I found the dough too sticky to roll and had to drop it by the spoon onto the parchment paper. They came out flat as pancakes and we weren't too crazy about the taste either. We ate part of it with a fork and threw the rest in the garbage. What a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Excellent cookie. I found it best to use parchment paper, instead of oiling the pan. Let the cookies cool quite a bit before removing from parchment and they should come off quite easily with minimal sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Loved this recipe- Was so easy to make and the most delicious pignoli cookies ever- I didn't really need to flour my hands, just rolled them very quickly and dropped in egg whites. I came up with about 24 cookies, not 36 because I made them just a little bit bigger than requested. This will always be the pignoli cookie recipe I use forever. Don't need to look any further. Very moist an chewy. The perfect consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Okay. I was born and raised on Long Island (NY)... I'm an Italian New Yorker...I KNOW Italian cookies... These are fantastic! and just like I remember getting at our favorite Italian bakery...Ramona Lee! One caveat: I don't suggest using wax paper to line the cookie sheet (i was out of foil!)...the paper stuck to the bottom despite greasing it and made an awful mess! AND... I suppose it's a matter of preference, but it's really not necessary to have the nuts on the bottom of the cookie...I just rolled the balls and put them on the cookie sheet, then flattened them and put a whole bunch of nuts on top.... Magnificent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Great! I made these to use up my pine nuts, actually, and I substituted the almond paste with ground walnuts/pecans. My parents loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
These were sooooo good. Just like the bakery! They were alot of work, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by doristam
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Great stuff. Chilling the dough helps a whole lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
The BEST Pignoli I have EVER eaten!!!! When dropping them on the cookie sheet, make sure you have a SMALL crescent shape--they grow so much in the oven! Very sticky batter but putting it in the fridge for a few minutes makes it MUCH more managable when rolling it in the pine nuts--and don't skimp on them-they hold the cookie together! I ended up using more pine nuts than expected. The best cookie recipe ever. Thank you Adele!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This is the 2nd yr that I've made these cookies. They come out delicious! They remind me of the bakery cookies I used to have when I was young.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, New York, USA
Living In: Wallkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Be careful when selecting the almond paste some of it is NOT GF
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States