Pignoli Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I grew up in Jersey and my family used to get these from the bakery every weekend. I would say these are just as good! I used the Solo canned almond paste, followed the directions and measurements exactly and these came out fantastic! I did not use parchment the first time around, but definitely will next time since the bottom of the cookies came out a little crispier and browner than they should be (and I even buttered the pan excessively). Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Amazing...chewy and delicious...but a pain to roll. I need a lot more practice since they were so super sticky!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chippy3799

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
It took two tries to get these right--the first time the dough was too wet, so the second time, I added the egg in parts until it was doughy but not wet, and they were lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Something went wrong. I've had pignoli cookies before and they were not sticky and chewy like these. The taste was still good but the texture was all wrong. I used the almond paste in a tube and will try again with the type in the can, if I can find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is a great recipe. I used the recipe exactly as it is written with the exception of 2 things: 1) rolling the dough in the pine nuts is not necessary and it uses up a lot of nuts ... just put them on top. 2) I did not use parchment or aluminum foil as suggested, I use silpat silicone baking sheets on my cookie sheets and there was NO STICKING at all. Also, the baking time was more like 20 minutes for me, I am not sure if it because of the sides on my cookie sheets, just keep on eye on them and make you pull them out when they start getting a little brown. The dough is sticky but the flour helps with this. Almond paste is expensive from the supermarket so I ordered a 7 lb can of "American Almond" almond paste online. It can be found for about $35 at multiple sites ... it is well worth it. It can be stored for a long time in the freezer. I am from LI NY and these are very close to those I remember from the italian bakeries back home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindenhurst, New York, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I'm sorry, I didn't care for these at all. I love almond flavor and pine nuts so I thought this would be a good fit. They are sticky and hard and hurt our teeth! I used parchment paper and they stuck like mad - I lost half of the cookies on the paper! They were also much more time consuming than I had anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyrenee726

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I've never tried Pignoli cookies before, but they looked interesting, and I love both almond paste and pine nuts, so I thought they were worth trying. They are great! A little sweet, but I did add 1/4 tsp salt as suggested by other reviewers, and I'm glad I did. I also used more pine nuts than called for. Just mixed these in a bowl with spoon/hands, baked on a regular old cookie sheets without any foil, parchment, or cooking spray and they came off just fine. Thanks so much for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This is the second year in a row I've made these for Christmas. My Aunt made these when I was a kid and I don't have her recipe. Thanks for sharing this one. Both times that I've made these, someone has asked for the recipe. They will be a staple at Christmas for me from now on. ;) (Edited to add the following) Make sure you use the parchment paper but also cooking spray. Wait until the cookies are a bit cooled before removing to wire rack and they won't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
A taste of Grandma in my own kitchen. Yummy! BUT Almond Paste is quite expensive....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIADAMIANI
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Just finished making these fabulous cookies. Used parchment paper and chilled dough so there was no mess. Thank you so much for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Floral Park, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States