Pignoli Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I made these for my very Italian grandmother and she said they taste just like the ones from the bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I've tried many pignoli or amaretti recipes, and this one is the keeper! I also could not roll out, so I used a pastry bag with no tip. Just pipe out the balls and put the pine nuts on top. If you want some without the pine nuts, just brush very little water on each and sprinkle with superfine sugar before baking. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I grew up in Jersey and my family used to get these from the bakery every weekend. I would say these are just as good! I used the Solo canned almond paste, followed the directions and measurements exactly and these came out fantastic! I did not use parchment the first time around, but definitely will next time since the bottom of the cookies came out a little crispier and browner than they should be (and I even buttered the pan excessively). Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Amazing...chewy and delicious...but a pain to roll. I need a lot more practice since they were so super sticky!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Baric

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
It took two tries to get these right--the first time the dough was too wet, so the second time, I added the egg in parts until it was doughy but not wet, and they were lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Something went wrong. I've had pignoli cookies before and they were not sticky and chewy like these. The taste was still good but the texture was all wrong. I used the almond paste in a tube and will try again with the type in the can, if I can find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is a great recipe. I used the recipe exactly as it is written with the exception of 2 things: 1) rolling the dough in the pine nuts is not necessary and it uses up a lot of nuts ... just put them on top. 2) I did not use parchment or aluminum foil as suggested, I use silpat silicone baking sheets on my cookie sheets and there was NO STICKING at all. Also, the baking time was more like 20 minutes for me, I am not sure if it because of the sides on my cookie sheets, just keep on eye on them and make you pull them out when they start getting a little brown. The dough is sticky but the flour helps with this. Almond paste is expensive from the supermarket so I ordered a 7 lb can of "American Almond" almond paste online. It can be found for about $35 at multiple sites ... it is well worth it. It can be stored for a long time in the freezer. I am from LI NY and these are very close to those I remember from the italian bakeries back home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindenhurst, New York, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I'm sorry, I didn't care for these at all. I love almond flavor and pine nuts so I thought this would be a good fit. They are sticky and hard and hurt our teeth! I used parchment paper and they stuck like mad - I lost half of the cookies on the paper! They were also much more time consuming than I had anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyrenee726

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I've never tried Pignoli cookies before, but they looked interesting, and I love both almond paste and pine nuts, so I thought they were worth trying. They are great! A little sweet, but I did add 1/4 tsp salt as suggested by other reviewers, and I'm glad I did. I also used more pine nuts than called for. Just mixed these in a bowl with spoon/hands, baked on a regular old cookie sheets without any foil, parchment, or cooking spray and they came off just fine. Thanks so much for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This is the second year in a row I've made these for Christmas. My Aunt made these when I was a kid and I don't have her recipe. Thanks for sharing this one. Both times that I've made these, someone has asked for the recipe. They will be a staple at Christmas for me from now on. ;) (Edited to add the following) Make sure you use the parchment paper but also cooking spray. Wait until the cookies are a bit cooled before removing to wire rack and they won't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States