Pignoli Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Simple recipe, delicious! I have a very old recipe from my Italian family which is: 1 lb almond paste, 4 egg whites at room temp. 1/2 c sugar, enough pignolias to coat cookies. I modify by not adding any sugar (almond paste is plenty sweet) Mix almond paste and egg whites in heavy duty mixer. because this mix is very wet, I add about 1 c. fine shredded unsweetened coconut and about 1 c. slivered almonds which I've chopped in food processor. Mixture will now be stiff. use about 1 T dough for each cookie.. flatten slightly and press into pignolia. Bake 350 10 - 12 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
These are so good, very light and like a macaroon. I made them for my brother's family that has gluten allergies, I hope they like them as much as I did. Very easy to make in the food processor. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Excellent recipe! I didn't make any changes ... I chilled the dough for about 10 minutes and did bake the cookies on parchment paper without any problems. I used about 1 1/2 small containers of the pine nuts which more than covered all of the cookies. I rolled my dough in about 1 inch balls, and got 46 cookies out of the reicpe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is an excellent recipe! The cookies taste like you bought them from Mulberry St. in Little Italy. Everyone that tries these LOVES them. Today is the first time I tried cooking them on parchment paper and it worked wonderfully. No sticking at all. I did use foil in the past and there was some sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I should have read the reviews and refrigerated the dough because I found it very hard to work with. Also I had to bake for 5-6 minutes more and they still were barely browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA
Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I made this recipe this past Christmas and it was awesome. The cookies taste and look great, the recipe was easy and my friends loved them too! There is an Italian gourmet store up the street from me and these are very expensive to buy there, like $13 for a small container. I made them at home for less than that and mine were fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I made these for my very Italian grandmother and she said they taste just like the ones from the bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I've tried many pignoli or amaretti recipes, and this one is the keeper! I also could not roll out, so I used a pastry bag with no tip. Just pipe out the balls and put the pine nuts on top. If you want some without the pine nuts, just brush very little water on each and sprinkle with superfine sugar before baking. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I grew up in Jersey and my family used to get these from the bakery every weekend. I would say these are just as good! I used the Solo canned almond paste, followed the directions and measurements exactly and these came out fantastic! I did not use parchment the first time around, but definitely will next time since the bottom of the cookies came out a little crispier and browner than they should be (and I even buttered the pan excessively). Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Amazing...chewy and delicious...but a pain to roll. I need a lot more practice since they were so super sticky!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chippy3799

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States