Pignoli Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by CuppaTeaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Fantastic cookies!!! This was my first time making these cookies, and I was extremely nervous because, well, they are not cheap to make! But, I followed the recipe and various reviewers' comments, and I achieved pignoli perfection! I followed the recipe exactly, and here are my tips: 1) I have a very, very small food processor, so here is what I had to do: I combined the almond paste and granulated sugar in a bowl, and I mushed the two together by hand, kneading the sugar into the paste. When it all seemed incorporated, I put little batches of the paste-sugar in the processor and whirred it around. After the mixture was smooth, I put it all into another, larger bowl; added egg whites and mixed with a hand mixer on LOW speed (careful: splatter potential). I then added the confectioner sugar, a 1/4 cup at a time, blending with hand mixer after each addition. Mixed until smooth. 2) Definitely refrigerate the dough--15-20 mins is great. 3) Definitely use parchment paper; also, the cookies don't spread THAT much, so I was able to fit 7 on a sheet. 4) Baked at 325 for about 20-25 mins. Take them out when they JUST start to brown on the edges, even if the centers look pale--the cookies will harden perfectly once out of the oven and they start to cool. I will definitely be making these again. And again. And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I'm from Brooklyn, NY, home to some of the most amazing bakeries. I'd promised my dad I'd try my hand at making his favorite cookies, so I found this recipe and took a chance. This isn't an easy cookie to make, but its sure worth the work! My food processor wasn't large enough, so I transferred the batter to my Kitchen Aid mixer and it was fine. I'd lined my cookie sheets with foil and butter flavored spray, and that was fine too. CHILL THE BATTER. If you don't, you'll have a mess on your hands! The recipe yielded 24 mid to large size cookies and I'd used 2 cups of pignoli nuts. The cookies took at least 20 minutes to bake in a preheated 300 degree oven. THE BOTTOMS BURN EASILY, so watch like a hawk, place your racks in the top part of your oven, and rotate your pans often. The cookies tell you when they're done because they'll separate easily from the foil and the bottom will be more golden than the top. If they're sticking to the foil, they're NOT DONE. Once cooled, I'd sprinkled lightly with confectioners sugar. They were simultaneously crunchy, yet tender due to the almond paste. My family gave rave reviews, especially my dad, so these will become part of my baking repertoire going forward. The cost difference between this recipe and the bakery is about 50%. Bakery charges about $25 per pound while this recipe yields two pounds for $25, not including your labor of love :) This recipe was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Delicious! One suggestion - chill the dough before baking. It is very difficult to manage at room temperature. Also I agree with other reviewers that the quality of the almond paste is important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Theses cookies were so easy to make and everyone loved them. I will definitely use this recipe as one of my Xmas cookies from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Delicious! Now I can enjoy these without taking a trip to NY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
A Christmas Delight!! Comes out perfect evry time!! (I used the tube paste instead of the canned and let the dough stiffen for 15 minutes before rolling) I added a teaspoon of Ammaretto to the mix for a little kick! delicious!! Buon Natale!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenny Burde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Wonderful! Chilling the dough made it easier to work with. I tried baking on foil that had been sprayed with Pam and on parchment--bottoms stuck more on parchment but were a prettier product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bmg2479
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
These cookies are fantastic! Beware that pine nuts currently cost $5 per half cup! I ended up baking mine for closer to 25 minutes and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmg2479

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
These are the best. I'm from Brooklyn, NY and now living in NJ, I've yet to find a bakery who can make these right! Now I don't have to! I do agree with other reviewers, chill the dough and it will be easy to put these togther. Thanks so much for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
These are my all time favorite cookies, but I know why I buy them now... I have an eleven cup food processor and doubled the recipe...almost burned it out making them for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States