Piggy Wiggys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Well, it's not a party without these little bite size treats! Who knew two little ingredients could produce something so good! I use a pizza cutter to cut the crescent dough and I always spray a bit of Pam so nothing sticks. I serve these with a variety of dipping sauces - bbq, honey mustard, spicy brown mustard, dijon, apricot jam mixed with a bit of bbq sauce, the possibilites are endless! One thing is for sure, these are always a hit and you're guests will definitely thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I too have had these pigs in blankets before and have made them myself with the biscuit dough. I thought I would really like the crescent dough version but I actually think I like the flaky biscuit dough flavor and texture better. It probably doesn’t matter to a bunch of guys watching a football game though. I do admit I did use store brand crescent dough. Maybe that made a difference. For those who are confused about how to get the triangles to work here’s the technique; The crescent dough is basically a rectangle cut into large triangles with diagonal cuts from corner to corner of the rectangles. This makes the large triangles, in truth, 90-degree triangles with points off to one side. To make 4 small triangles out of each large crescent roll, 90 degree triangle, for the little cocktail size sausages: Lay one of the (8) large triangles out flat with the point pointing at you and the square corner on the left. About 1/3 of the way down cut the point off the triangle making 1 of the 4 small triangles. (Set that one aside or immediately roll it around a sausage.) You now have sort of a lopsided rectangle with 1 square corner (on the left) and one corner sticking out at an angle (on the right). From the bottom edge (farthest away from you) move your knife leftward from the angled corner, on the right, about 1/3 of the length of that bottom edge. Make a diagonal cut to the upper (closest to you now) right-hand edge corner, where you cut the first small triangle off. You now hav
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
A variation I use as appetizers: cut each crescent roll into two triangles, otherwise they are too big for the sausage; brush the top of each triangle with your favorite BBQ sauce; place one sausage on the long side of each triangle and roll up; bake. Addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Traditional recipe, cutting each large triangle into 3 smaller ones, making 24 piggies for each can of crescent rolls...great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I have been making these for years!! The way I make mine is to take each crescent rectangle, cut another diagonal, then straight down the middle and across like a + sign. If you do it for each rectangle it will give you enough to wrap 32. I also brush with egg to give it a rich golden color and they come out beautiful. My kids love them especially with the little cheddar smokies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Ok, who doesn't love these? They are great any time of the year especially football season! Especially good served warm with mustard. Side note: I've found that one crescent can be cut in four strips so that one container of eight can wrap 32 cocktail sausages. Hope this helps! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
Yummy! This is a must have at parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Convection 350 degrees for 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susabelle
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
My mom used to make these on Sunday after church for a quick easy meal before we all had to rush off to soccer or volleyball or some other thing we were doing that day. I use biscuit dough and regular sized hot dogs...we also split the hotdog and put in some cheese. Thanks for the post and some great memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Kids loved these! I placed a sliced piece of precooked bacon in each one with the cocktail sausage it was delicious! I baked these for 11-12 min. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States