Piggies (Sugar and Cinnamon Pie Dough Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
My granny was a professional baker and she called them cinnamon rolls. (Imagine my surprise as a child to see a real cinnamon roll, compared to what I knew.) We used butter instead of shortening. She also rolled them into small logs (about 3 inches) which I prefer over the thin version given in this recipe. Very, very easy to make and well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My Grandmother made these, too. They were called cimmitty-coo (when my Dad was little, he couldn't say cinnamon cookies). They're wonderful. Thanks so much for the damp smile! Off to the kitchen with me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
i tried this recipe just now n it came out well....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
The cookies are amazing! However, when I took the cookies off the pan I put them onto paper towel - they STUCK to the paper towel! So, I will try them another time and let them cool longer on the pan before putting them on the paper towel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faith04

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
These were ok - great if you have nothing else on hand, but I wouldn't go out of my way to make them. It was a neat idea, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Elmore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Florida, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
An easy way to get rid of scrap dough. These weren't as sweet as I was expecting them to be, but they were still delicious. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gktfrank
Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
My mom used to make these for us when we were kids. They are the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
My Mom always made these type of cookies for us after she made a pie. The only thing that she did different was to spread the dough with butter and jam then sprinkle with the sugar and cinnamon. Yum..... They were the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Childhood memories! My mom made these every time she made pie, which was often. I've made them as well since then, and I'm 65, so it's been many batches of "piggies" (which we called "thingies" - but I like "piggies" better). As time has gone on, I've jazzed them up by using a combination of white and brown sugar and I add chopped pecans or walnuts to the cinnamon-sugar mixture. I make an entire extra batch of pie crust dough just to make these. They are delicious - and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This was Fantastic! They are truly worth making pie crust just to have them. We will be having these cookies often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States