Piggies (Sugar and Cinnamon Pie Dough Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gracewright90
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
The first time I made this, it turned out terribly. The cookies were a thick, chalky, doughy mess. The next time I had leftover pie crust (not from this recipe, actually a storebought roll-out kind since I was in a rush, eek!) I rolled out the leftovers, spread it with crisco, mixed some extra crisco, cinnamon and sugar together, and spread the paste onto the cookies, rolled, and sliced. I sliced them about 1/4" thick instead of 3/4", sprinkled a little extra cinnamon-sugar mixture on top and baked for 6 minutes at 425 degrees. They came out tiny and crispy and flaky with a caramelized bottom... absolutely irresistible and impossible to stop eating! Fantastic recipe, the main thing is SLICE VERY THIN BEFORE YOU BAKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracewright90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
These are originally a french canadain recipe...generally filled with brown sugar for the classic sugar pie. these rolls are called "pette de soeur" which means "nun's farts" little sweet bursts from heaven. everything french canadian was religiously associated. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvie TorokNagy Murray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I grew up with these! My mum made them every time she made pie, or anything that involved pie crust. They are a fantastic, tasty way to use up left over crust! We always called them "pinwheels". She used brown sugar instead of white and butter instead of the shortening inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I am french Canadian and I grew up with these tasty bites. The secret is to brush the dough very lightly with either butter or water to make the sugar and cinnamon stick. We have used brown sugar, white sugar and hot chocolate mix for different variations. Yummmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by born2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Childhood memories! My mom made these every time she made pie, which was often. I've made them as well since then, and I'm 65, so it's been many batches of "piggies" (which we called "thingies" - but I like "piggies" better). As time has gone on, I've jazzed them up by using a combination of white and brown sugar and I add chopped pecans or walnuts to the cinnamon-sugar mixture. I make an entire extra batch of pie crust dough just to make these. They are delicious - and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
A lovely way to use piecrust; in fact, I even used a piecrust just to make these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I used to make these when I was a teenager. I got the recipe from home ec class. We made these one day in class and they went over big time. I lost the recipe many, many years ago. Thanks for publishing this. Got my first boyfriend with a plate of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glendalee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
These cookies are simple and wonderful. My toddler loves them and I love that they are easy to make and that because I am making them from scratch I know exactly what is in them. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsChelberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
My grandma would always make these for the kids she babysat when she made pies for people. I use to just call them pie cookies. I didn't roll my into swirls I just rolled it out like a pie crust then spread with shortening and cinnamon sugar and then I just break off the cookies when I want them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eclarkson09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I think that this recipe is a very good recipe. my grandma use to make them on thanks giving and they are very addicting. I think everyone will enjoy this recipe. I know I did :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States