Piggies (Sugar and Cinnamon Pie Dough Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My Grandmother made these, too. They were called cimmitty-coo (when my Dad was little, he couldn't say cinnamon cookies). They're wonderful. Thanks so much for the damp smile! Off to the kitchen with me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
i tried this recipe just now n it came out well....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
The cookies are amazing! However, when I took the cookies off the pan I put them onto paper towel - they STUCK to the paper towel! So, I will try them another time and let them cool longer on the pan before putting them on the paper towel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faith04

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
These were ok - great if you have nothing else on hand, but I wouldn't go out of my way to make them. It was a neat idea, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Elmore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Florida, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
An easy way to get rid of scrap dough. These weren't as sweet as I was expecting them to be, but they were still delicious. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gktfrank
Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
My mom used to make these for us when we were kids. They are the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
My Mom always made these type of cookies for us after she made a pie. The only thing that she did different was to spread the dough with butter and jam then sprinkle with the sugar and cinnamon. Yum..... They were the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Childhood memories! My mom made these every time she made pie, which was often. I've made them as well since then, and I'm 65, so it's been many batches of "piggies" (which we called "thingies" - but I like "piggies" better). As time has gone on, I've jazzed them up by using a combination of white and brown sugar and I add chopped pecans or walnuts to the cinnamon-sugar mixture. I make an entire extra batch of pie crust dough just to make these. They are delicious - and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This was Fantastic! They are truly worth making pie crust just to have them. We will be having these cookies often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gracewright90
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
The first time I made this, it turned out terribly. The cookies were a thick, chalky, doughy mess. The next time I had leftover pie crust (not from this recipe, actually a storebought roll-out kind since I was in a rush, eek!) I rolled out the leftovers, spread it with crisco, mixed some extra crisco, cinnamon and sugar together, and spread the paste onto the cookies, rolled, and sliced. I sliced them about 1/4" thick instead of 3/4", sprinkled a little extra cinnamon-sugar mixture on top and baked for 6 minutes at 425 degrees. They came out tiny and crispy and flaky with a caramelized bottom... absolutely irresistible and impossible to stop eating! Fantastic recipe, the main thing is SLICE VERY THIN BEFORE YOU BAKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracewright90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States