Piggies (Sugar and Cinnamon Pie Dough Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
In Switzerland, they call these "schnaegglis" and my mom (and we) ALWAYS made this out of leftover pie crust :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Just finished making these & we are half way thru eating them already! I'd like to think that means the recipe didn't make a lot but truthfully it made about 2 dozen slices. They're just That delicious. Will make again, and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I really had high hopes for these, as both me and my husband love a good homemade pie crust. - I soon learned that even the best homemade pie crust though just doesn't amount to the tastiest cookie, in my opinion. Maybe I didn't add enough cinnamon or sugar or something, but they were dry and bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
My grandma used to make these for us as a kid! Delicious... I use butter because that's what I had on hand along with store bought crust... concept the same and whatever you call the dessert its AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I am french Canadian and I grew up with these tasty bites. The secret is to brush the dough very lightly with either butter or water to make the sugar and cinnamon stick. We have used brown sugar, white sugar and hot chocolate mix for different variations. Yummmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by born2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Love them, especially right out of the oven. They are quick and easy to fix even late at night when you're craving something sweet. I use unsalted butter instead of shortening and add 1/2 teaspoon of sugar to the dough. I use my Ninja to combine the flour and butter, works like a charm and is super quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara.davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
My mother used to make these as well from left-over pie dough. I'm all thumbs at pie dough but the refrigerated pie dough sheets work perfectly...and it's fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
My mom used to make these with leftover pie crust. I think the trick is to roll the dough thin and slice them about 1/2 inch thick. Delicious childhood memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Griscom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Nice and easy to make. The only thing that made me nuts (and I should have known better) was putting the slices on paper towels to cool, like the directions said...made them all stick to the paper towels. A nightmare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magicbeanbuyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
My granny was a professional baker and she called them cinnamon rolls. (Imagine my surprise as a child to see a real cinnamon roll, compared to what I knew.) We used butter instead of shortening. She also rolled them into small logs (about 3 inches) which I prefer over the thin version given in this recipe. Very, very easy to make and well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States