Pig Picking Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I was a rock star at work with this cake. I used a 9x13 pan and added both chopped strawberries and coconut to the topping. Moist and fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
As with many reviewers, we have been making this cake for years. Everyone who tries it declares it their new most favorite. I add nuts and mandarin oranges to everything I can, but you can pretty much put in, or leave out, whatever you want and not mess it up. I like to add cherries on top for color. It is very rich, very moist and I don't want to change anything, so we slice thin pieces and serve it only at very special gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Good stuff. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I give this cake 5-stars the way it is written. 6-stars (if only it were possible) with the following changes. This cake is fantastic. Like other reviewers mentioned, I use orange juice instead of water. I also use a package of instant lemon pudding AND I decided to add 1 tsp. of orange extract. Truly fantastic that way. I buy 2 cans of 15-oz. mandarin oranges and reserve 1/2 a can for decorating on top and add the others to the mix :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
It's great, however. I do my in a 9x13 baking dish. Never lasts long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terra Alta, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Made it last week for the first time. It was excellent, I had to give it away as I kept eating at it. Not to sweet but a nice and refreshing cake. Will definetly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Everyone loved this recipe!! I made as recipe stated and wouldn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I did notice one big difference with the recipe I have used for years, I use 1 can of mandarin oranges plus the juice instead of the water called for on the cake mix box. You still use the eggs and oil. I use French vanilla flavored pudding mix. I have only ever used a 9X13 pan and no nuts. So I will have to try nuts sometime. I have made this recipe for years, but the lady I got it from was from the south and she called it Pea Picking cake. A light and moist dessert that everyone loves!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bmatheson
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This has been a family favorite for years. I usually bake it in a 9x13" pan for about 35 minutes instead of as layers. I also don't put in the nuts or coconut. I just don't think it needs it. You'd think this would be a really rich dessert but with the tarter fruits it's so refreshing. I have also used low fat/non-fat/lite ingredients and it didn't change a thing as far as taste or appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My mom made this growing up and I make it now for our family functions. It is a great light summer dessert, or a "light" dessert alternative to rich chocolate cakes and pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States