Pig Picking Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Simple, moist, and delicious. I made a 13x9 instead of layers, and used the mandarin orange juice in place of the water in prepping the cake. I'll happily make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I was a rock star at work with this cake. I used a 9x13 pan and added both chopped strawberries and coconut to the topping. Moist and fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
As with many reviewers, we have been making this cake for years. Everyone who tries it declares it their new most favorite. I add nuts and mandarin oranges to everything I can, but you can pretty much put in, or leave out, whatever you want and not mess it up. I like to add cherries on top for color. It is very rich, very moist and I don't want to change anything, so we slice thin pieces and serve it only at very special gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Good stuff. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I give this cake 5-stars the way it is written. 6-stars (if only it were possible) with the following changes. This cake is fantastic. Like other reviewers mentioned, I use orange juice instead of water. I also use a package of instant lemon pudding AND I decided to add 1 tsp. of orange extract. Truly fantastic that way. I buy 2 cans of 15-oz. mandarin oranges and reserve 1/2 a can for decorating on top and add the others to the mix :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
It's great, however. I do my in a 9x13 baking dish. Never lasts long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terra Alta, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Made it last week for the first time. It was excellent, I had to give it away as I kept eating at it. Not to sweet but a nice and refreshing cake. Will definetly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Everyone loved this recipe!! I made as recipe stated and wouldn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I did notice one big difference with the recipe I have used for years, I use 1 can of mandarin oranges plus the juice instead of the water called for on the cake mix box. You still use the eggs and oil. I use French vanilla flavored pudding mix. I have only ever used a 9X13 pan and no nuts. So I will have to try nuts sometime. I have made this recipe for years, but the lady I got it from was from the south and she called it Pea Picking cake. A light and moist dessert that everyone loves!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bmatheson
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This has been a family favorite for years. I usually bake it in a 9x13" pan for about 35 minutes instead of as layers. I also don't put in the nuts or coconut. I just don't think it needs it. You'd think this would be a really rich dessert but with the tarter fruits it's so refreshing. I have also used low fat/non-fat/lite ingredients and it didn't change a thing as far as taste or appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States