Pig Picking Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Really great cake! This can also be made in a 9x13 pan if you don't want to do layers and it tastes better the longer it sits in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
I won't be making this very often as it is waaaay too good. Can hardly stop with just one piece. My family all loved it. Will save it for special occasions like Thanksgiving or Christmas. It was moist, delicious and so easy to make. I agree that it probably wouldn't trvel well, but I made it in a 9x13 pan, which would travel easier than a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
THEY SERVE THIS AT HY HUSBANDS RESTAURANT AND ITS OUTRAGOUSLY YUMMY I MADE MY FIRST ONE FOR THANKSGIVING AND IT WAS THE FIRST DESSERT THAT WAS GONE IT WAS GREAT I MADE MINE IN 2 NINE IN. PANS BECAUSE I DONT HAVE 8 IN AND IT WAS GREAT ALSO I THOUGHT 2 LAYERS WOULD TRAVEL BETTER THEN 3 THIS IS A WINNER AND TOO GOOD TO MAKE ALL THE TIME IV MADE THIS AGAIN AND IV CHANGED THE PUDDING IN THE ICING TO COCONUT AND LEAVE THE COCONET OUT MIX YOUR PUDDING WITH THE COCONUT AND LET IT GET GOOD AND THICK BEFORE MIXING WITH YOUR WHIPED CREAM IT HELPS ALOT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haleyms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I made mine in a 9x13 pan. The consistency of the cake was great - very moist, but it lacked enough flavor for me to rate it 5 stars. I recommend making a trial run at this recipe before planning to serve for an event/special occasion. I think it is an acquired taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELAMCKEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
In South Carolina we definitely call this Pig Pickin' Cake. The pig is cooked outdoors, usually on large gas cookers. The cooked meat is chopped & sauce added. Then everyone "picks" their BBQ from the pig. It's a southern thing like boiled peanuts. This cake is delicious and is often served at a pig pickin', but it's great anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
My mom made this for all sorts of pot-lucks when I was growing up. The only difference was that she didn't stop at adding the cool-whip mixture between the cakes, she then "iced" the whole thing with it....yummy! I think it's even better the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2001
Although, I have always heard it called pea pickin cake. I always assumed it came from Tennessee Ernie Ford's old addage for Martha White cornmeal. "It's pea-picking good!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This cake/dessert is fabulous! It also works well in a 9x13" pan for simplicity. It is also wonderful with a cou of choppe walnuts sprinkled over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
My family and I LOVE this cake! The only problem is wanting to finish the whole thing so fast. I followed the recipe and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
I love tropical anything! This recipe is top on my list! It's also very light & not real sweet like some cakes. Good anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States