Pig Picking Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
I love tropical anything! This recipe is top on my list! It's also very light & not real sweet like some cakes. Good anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2001
Although, I have always heard it called pea pickin cake. I always assumed it came from Tennessee Ernie Ford's old addage for Martha White cornmeal. "It's pea-picking good!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2001
This is a GREAT cake. My family just loves it! It is especially good in the spring and summertime as it is light and fruity. But one thing to remember...it really doesn't travel well....so it's best to make it where you're going to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
In South Carolina we definitely call this Pig Pickin' Cake. The pig is cooked outdoors, usually on large gas cookers. The cooked meat is chopped & sauce added. Then everyone "picks" their BBQ from the pig. It's a southern thing like boiled peanuts. This cake is delicious and is often served at a pig pickin', but it's great anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
THIS CAKE IS AWESOME.....EASY TO MAKE, GIVES GOOD DIRECTIONS. THANK YOU FOR PUTTING IT ON THE WEB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
I won't be making this very often as it is waaaay too good. Can hardly stop with just one piece. My family all loved it. Will save it for special occasions like Thanksgiving or Christmas. It was moist, delicious and so easy to make. I agree that it probably wouldn't trvel well, but I made it in a 9x13 pan, which would travel easier than a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I first tasted this cake in March of this year and LOVED it. Found this recipe, daughter made the cake, I brought it to work and everyone loved it. Great summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Really great cake! This can also be made in a 9x13 pan if you don't want to do layers and it tastes better the longer it sits in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
My Daughter Loves it and is the only Cake she will let me make for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I was ready to eat it before it was even baked, its that yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States