Pierogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
My mother is Ukrainiane and has taught me to make these, except they call it Vareniky. They take ages to make and five minutes to eat, but are super delicious. They can also be made with cherries and served with thickened cream or ice cream as a dessert. I make them all the time if I have leftover mashed potatoes or cabbage. I would just like to add that many nationalities have pierogies but have different names for them. Ukrainian pierogies are made with yeast and deep fried or baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Simplicity at its best its awesome its not traditional but then again that word "traditional" is not in the title,its easier to make the dough than the old ways.Not everyone likes onions but still like the flavor so this is a fine way to make them as they can push the onions off.I changed what i put in mine but thats because my tastes are different then others so do your own thing and enjoy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
So Yummy & Easy to make. I was always intimidated by the number of ingrediants before but this recipe calls for very little but with supreme results. I love that I now have my go-to dough recipe for perogies and can experiment each time with different fillings. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I used this recipe as a base, & extras from the reviews, also fine minced chives, since I had em in the garden. Instead of the sour cream, I used 0 fat yogurt & half the butter, the other half used in the warming stage. To roll the dough, I cut off small bits, made bals in my palm, flattened them, and ran them through my pasta machine. Much faster. Somebody said the fill was sticky. I used tiny ammounts of butter on my hands, which worked well. Thanks for this flexible recipe, & also for the reviews; else I wouldn't have tried making perogies. They were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Great recipe. It's very similar to a Polish recipe that I got from a co-worker. When boiling the potatoes, I added bay leaf and rosemary, added the browned, sauteed onion into the mashed mix, along with freshly cracked pepper, sea salt, fresh basil and some minced, raw garlic cloves. The combinations from the rosemary and garlic can be detected immediately, leaving a refreshing, flavorful taste. It pairs nicely with the cool sour cream taste from the pastry. A+. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TolsonAiles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. I have made pierogies before,but this recipe was alittle different. Thanks !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I have almost the same recipe, no amounts for the ingredients. It is my great grandmothers polish recipe, but the mashed potatoes have to be almost dry, do not make them like you would to eat for dinner. VERY little milk Yes, you do need to put in more salt , pepper and garlic. always BOIL, never just freeze after you pinch. ! Boil, then pan fry if ya want. I do not use eggs, I think the sour cream makes them taste better. Always fry the onions in butter before you add to the potatoes, plus velvetta cheese is much better. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I have to say I was a little leary about this recipe, but I tried it anyway. I have to give this 5 stars. The ease of making the dough, the perfect texture of the dough, the fabulous taste, 5*****. I made 32 of these tonight, and served them to my wife and mother in law. They went crazy. They both said they are better than what you get at church dinners. All but 6 were left, and I was asked to make more tommorow. I followed the recipe to a tee. I used cheddee cheese mashed in some and a sweetened kraut in the others. Great recipe, thank you for sharing this with us. You can never beat a Great Grandma recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Great dough recipe. It handles well and allows you to make the shell thin without fear of it leaking. My grandma's were neat little pouches with potatoe filling. Thanks for this recipe. I am finally able to replicate the pierogies I grew up loving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
These were great! Easy to make. The onions with them were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Egg Noodles

Freshly made egg noodles jazz up all your favorite pasta dishes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States