Pierogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. I have made pierogies before,but this recipe was alittle different. Thanks !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Great recipe. It's very similar to a Polish recipe that I got from a co-worker. When boiling the potatoes, I added bay leaf and rosemary, added the browned, sauteed onion into the mashed mix, along with freshly cracked pepper, sea salt, fresh basil and some minced, raw garlic cloves. The combinations from the rosemary and garlic can be detected immediately, leaving a refreshing, flavorful taste. It pairs nicely with the cool sour cream taste from the pastry. A+. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TolsonAiles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I used this recipe as a base, & extras from the reviews, also fine minced chives, since I had em in the garden. Instead of the sour cream, I used 0 fat yogurt & half the butter, the other half used in the warming stage. To roll the dough, I cut off small bits, made bals in my palm, flattened them, and ran them through my pasta machine. Much faster. Somebody said the fill was sticky. I used tiny ammounts of butter on my hands, which worked well. Thanks for this flexible recipe, & also for the reviews; else I wouldn't have tried making perogies. They were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
So Yummy & Easy to make. I was always intimidated by the number of ingrediants before but this recipe calls for very little but with supreme results. I love that I now have my go-to dough recipe for perogies and can experiment each time with different fillings. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Simplicity at its best its awesome its not traditional but then again that word "traditional" is not in the title,its easier to make the dough than the old ways.Not everyone likes onions but still like the flavor so this is a fine way to make them as they can push the onions off.I changed what i put in mine but thats because my tastes are different then others so do your own thing and enjoy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I do make this recipe, but I let the sour cream come to room temp. first and I add about a cup and a half more flour. Once made,I wrap well and freeze first, then when I need to make perogys I thaw the dough in the fridge. It has a better texture after being frozen. I use quite a few different fillings but our fav. is potato and cheddar cheese. It has to be old cheddar though, this gives it more flavour. I use five pounds of potatoes and 1 1/2 pounds of grated cheddar, that needs to be put into the potatoes when they are hot when mashing, also lots off fresh ground pepper to taste. I also do not roll the dough and cut. I cut strips, roll into snakes and slice of pieces to flatten with a rolling pin. this way there is no waste and the dough does not become tough from over working.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
i dont see polish anywhere on the recipe the end result speaks for itself it it good or no!!i substituted fried beacon bits instead of the onion..couldnt get enuf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I agree it's not my family's Polish recipe, but who's to say it's not polish? Many cooks change and adapt recipes, and this could have been the same. You can stuff these, like any dumpling, with a variety of different fillings. Sauteed mushrooms and onions, stewed prunes or other fruits, a slightly sweet filling made from hoop cheese (can be special ordered from many delis or can use farmers or ricotta cheese for a similar taste), sugar, cinnamon and raisins (my favorite), etc. We always served our pierogis with melted butter. They are a little on the bland side, but you can jazz them up to your own preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
My mother is Ukrainiane and has taught me to make these, except they call it Vareniky. They take ages to make and five minutes to eat, but are super delicious. They can also be made with cherries and served with thickened cream or ice cream as a dessert. I make them all the time if I have leftover mashed potatoes or cabbage. I would just like to add that many nationalities have pierogies but have different names for them. Ukrainian pierogies are made with yeast and deep fried or baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I married a Ukrainian so I KNOW pierogies lol We make hundreds of them at a time a few dozen times a year. To add some actual flavor to this recipe add onion powder to the dough at least 1/2 teaspoon and some PEPPER to the potatoes I added tellicherry fresh cracked pepper and some chives as well. With the onions omg add them to the potatos themselves!! Carmalize them and add them to the mashed potatoes ,and make sure to season the potatoes with sea salt and pepper and once u add the carmalized onions they will pop with flavor. I also use dry curd cottage cheese to which carmalized onions have been added as well. If you want to make a cream soup ,save the water u boil the pieriogies in and reduce it by half,then add some cream and pop back in some unfried pierogies and you have a nice cream soup recipe for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zhinka Chunmee
Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Egg Noodles

Freshly made egg noodles jazz up all your favorite pasta dishes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States