Pierogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Great dough recipe. It handles well and allows you to make the shell thin without fear of it leaking. My grandma's were neat little pouches with potatoe filling. Thanks for this recipe. I am finally able to replicate the pierogies I grew up loving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I have to say I was a little leary about this recipe, but I tried it anyway. I have to give this 5 stars. The ease of making the dough, the perfect texture of the dough, the fabulous taste, 5*****. I made 32 of these tonight, and served them to my wife and mother in law. They went crazy. They both said they are better than what you get at church dinners. All but 6 were left, and I was asked to make more tommorow. I followed the recipe to a tee. I used cheddee cheese mashed in some and a sweetened kraut in the others. Great recipe, thank you for sharing this with us. You can never beat a Great Grandma recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I have almost the same recipe, no amounts for the ingredients. It is my great grandmothers polish recipe, but the mashed potatoes have to be almost dry, do not make them like you would to eat for dinner. VERY little milk Yes, you do need to put in more salt , pepper and garlic. always BOIL, never just freeze after you pinch. ! Boil, then pan fry if ya want. I do not use eggs, I think the sour cream makes them taste better. Always fry the onions in butter before you add to the potatoes, plus velvetta cheese is much better. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
These were great! I made some changes to the filling to suit our family. I added some roasted garlic and medium cheddar cheese to the mashed potatoes. The dough was perfect and so easy to make using my pasta maker to roll it out! These will be a favorite in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I would have given it 5 stars if it made more in a batch. Instead of boiling them then frying I just put them in the butter and fried until brown, they were tasty and best of all crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSSTEFANSKI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Struthers, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Such a nice easy dough to work with...and definitely use the suggestion to roll into snake/log, rather than roll and re-roll. Also after rolling, rather than use a knife to cut, take a piece of thread about 12", slide it under the dough to the width you want, overlap at the top and pull both ends and voila'..no messing around with a knife. I also kept the dough in rounds, put potatoe in the middle and covered with another round and pinched edges...much simpler than the half moon; altho may not look traditional but tastes the same!I also doctored up the potatoes with cheese, pepper etc to give more flavour...adapt to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
THANKS FOR SHARING! THIS WAS A VERY GOOD STARTER RECIPE.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise W

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Fox Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
a good recipe, the dough is easy and the filling is simple. I make these at least once a month, using the plain potato filling, the potato and cheese filling, sourkraut, onion and bacon filling and the cottage cheese filling. When a boil them I cook some of each so there is a variety to serve
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. I have made pierogies before,but this recipe was alittle different. Thanks !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Great recipe. It's very similar to a Polish recipe that I got from a co-worker. When boiling the potatoes, I added bay leaf and rosemary, added the browned, sauteed onion into the mashed mix, along with freshly cracked pepper, sea salt, fresh basil and some minced, raw garlic cloves. The combinations from the rosemary and garlic can be detected immediately, leaving a refreshing, flavorful taste. It pairs nicely with the cool sour cream taste from the pastry. A+. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TolsonAiles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States