Pierogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
First time making anything like this. I used to buy the frozen ones all the time, and thought they were pretty good.... I would doctor them up a lot, but still, not that bad. I did have a girlfriend in high school that had a polish grandmother who made these on special occasions, and they were AMAZING! That is how i first got into them, but after that, I only got the frozen ones. This recipe is actually really fun and amazing. It is so simple and easy, but with a lot of room to customize and improve. A really good BASE set-up. I cut the recipe in half just to test it... didn't want a hundred crappy things to throw away. I made 12 with the halved recipe... after I got the hang of rolling them and getting them ready to boil, things got fun. The last several I made came out soooo good I was overjoyed. Followed the recipe exactly, and would recommend this to anyone. This one is a little trial and error for newer cooks. Make a few small batches and see where you need to make slight changes. Once you get it, you will LOVE it. I don't think there is any one "secret" to nailing this recipe... just have to get a "feel" for it really. the fillings can be almost endless, and you could add to the dough as well, to alter the texture and flavor. I used an impromptu mashed potato recipe... just chopped and boiled russet potatoes with skins, drained, mashed with a scoop of sour cream, a touch of half and half, some salt pepper, onion salt and garlic powder, with cheddar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
The instant I tasted these, I felt like I was home! My Grandpa introduced us to all kinds of his native Polish foods and this, well, is heaven!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA
Living In: Schoharie, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I admit I was surprised with how well these came out after all the work. I definitely recommend pan-frying them in olive oil; it makes them crunchier and brings out the flavor. Topped with tomato sauce and parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Made these, but added sauerkraut to some, onions and cheese to others and they are delicious as well! I have grandparents from all over eastern Europe and NOBODY's recipe is the same. Not ALL Polish make it one way... how dumb. But I'll tell you, my grandmother made incredible pierogi with everything from prunes, to lemons to cheese and sauerkraut. They were all delicious. Her secret to get them to stick together??? she spit on the edges!!! She cracked me up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This recipe took some time to make but was a lot of fun to put together. We added cheese, onions and garlic salt to the potatoes. We also didn't use quite as much flour to the dough. We found that flipping them over and browning both sides worked best for us. The end product was delicious and we might add other indgredients such as a little spinach and mushrooms next time. This will be our new New Years Day tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
THE 5 STARS ARE FOR THE DOUGH!! I AM POLISH AND UKRAINIAN AND I WAS AFRAID TO WASTE THE INGREDIENTS (SOUR CREAM) IF IT DID NOT COME OUT. BUT...WOW!!! SO PLIABLE! I ROLLED PIECES INTO A "ROPE" APPROX 12" LONG, THEN CUT INTO 1" PIECES. I USED MY FINGERS TO MAKE A CIRCLE AND FINISHED IT OFF WITH A ROLLING PIN. AS FOR THE FILLING, I MADE 2 KINDS - I CUT POTATOES INTO CHUNKS ,BOILED UNTIL TENDER, WHEN SLIGHTLY COOLED I ADDED FARMERS CHEESE AND LOTS OF ONION THAT I SAUTEED IN A GOOD AMOUNT OF BUTTER. THE SECOND FILLING IS MY DAD'S ABSOLUTE FAVORITE, I USED FARMERS CHEESE, ONION WHICH I SAUTEED IN BUTTER AND FRESH DILL!!!! TO EACH MIXTURE I ALSO ADDED SALT AND PEPPER. AFTER I BOILED THEM, I SAUTEED THEM IN BUTTER /ONION MIXTURE UNTIL THEY WERE GOLDEN AND CRISPY ON EACH SIDE.PASS WITH PLENTY OF SOUR CREAM.MMMMMMMM.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
The only thing I did different was added the onions to the potatoes. These didnt have much flavor so next time I will play with some spices. It does take a lot of time to prepare these so be prepared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I really did enjoy this easy recipe, it`s much better than going out to the store and buying pre-made because you don`t always know what goes in them and these ones take no time at all and very little ingrediants. The dough I agree, is a little bland and they don`t boil very nicely, but by adding a few things to fry them with makes all the difference. Even just frying them (no boiling) in some butter and a little seasoning works really well. Than, add some fried onions, bacon mushrooms and or pork you`ve got a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandinichol

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Homemade Pierogies are the BEST. They definitely can be time consuming (so make a lot, so it's worthwhile!) but they are so worth it. For the record, reviewers like QTSREIGN annoy me. This recipe doesn't state it's Polish and like every other food in the world...there are multiple recipes and preparations. Your grandmother passed down a fabulous recipe, regardless of the country of origin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiemama
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Relatively easy to make and really yummy. I think the key is in the potatoes. I added onion powder and cheddar cheese and garlic to the potatoes for flavor. I also added about a 1/2 tsp. salt to the dough. If you are short on time, make about 4 massive calzone size pierogies! :o) Doing it that way also helps to not overwork the dough. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Egg Noodles

Freshly made egg noodles jazz up all your favorite pasta dishes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States